Snow Day Breakfast

One of the things I’ve learned since I moved to Kansas is that snow means something entirely different here than it does in North Carolina. In NC, snow means stocking up on bread and milk, sliding around on slushy roads and getting to miss school and work. In Kansas, no one blinks, it’s more like, “Ugh, snow again.” And then, if you’re me and terrified of driving in any winter weather after a memorable sliding around and getting stuck on the highway perpendicular to a lane of oncoming traffic the day before Christmas experience, you strap on Yaktrax and go to work anyway. I’m more than a little skeptical of all the people who kept telling me that this is the worst winter in this part of Kansas in recent memory. It’s hard not to believe that they’re all like this.

So the point of all that was that I needed a big, hearty breakfast to fuel my slippery walk to work and keep me going through a few morning meetings. We had some bananas that were looking pretty ripe, so I made a banana oatmeal pancake (ripped from Kath). I cut up half of the banana that I used in the batter on top of the pancake to bulk it up, and had some yogurt with sliced almonds on the side, in one of my awesome new snack bowls.

Here’s the visual:
img_0649_2.jpg

One Response to Snow Day Breakfast

  1. Donna says:

    mmmmmm, banana-y, and on a monkey plate!

Leave a Reply

