Bulgurrific

After seeing Ellie Krieger cook some kind of bulgur-based meal last weekend on Healthy Appetite, I picked up some bulgur on a whim and decided to figure out what I could do with it. I did some research to learn how to cook it, and I’ve already managed to integrate it into two dinners. It’s made from wheat and really easy to prepare. So far, I’ve only cooked it in chicken broth, and it’s like a cross between rice, quinoa and couscous. I know that people also have it as an oatmeal stand-in, so I may try that next.

Anyway, here’s last night’s experiment, which I’ve been calling Turkey Bulgur Surprise, which I made with stuff I had in the kitchen.

img_0646.jpg

Here’s how I made it:

Cook the bulgur – bring a little over a cup of water or chicken broth to a low boil, then add 1/2 cup bulgur. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 15 minutes. While the bulgur is simmering, brown ground turkey breast (about 6 oz) in a saucepan on medium-high heat, stirring often. As turkey browns, crumble it into small pieces. add about 1 tsp of cumin. Remove turkey breast from heat when cooked through. When the bulgur is done, add a can of diced tomatoes, sauce and all. Stir in ground turkey. Add a little more cumin and stir all together, simmering for about 5 more minutes. This makes about 3 servings (~1 cup each). I made mine a little too spicy by using diced tomatoes with chilies, so I added 1 tbsp of plain yogurt (we’re out of sour cream) to cut the heat.

It turned out a lot better than I expected; Matt had some when he got home from work and he liked it, too.

And then, tonight’s meal – Spinach and Mushroom Quesadilla with Black Beans and Bulgur:

img_0651.jpg

I made the bulgur the same way – it triples in size when cooked, so 1/2 cup dry makes 3 nice 1/2 cup servings of the cooked stuff. I also had a small salad with a few black beans and some cheese that I couldn’t stuff into the quesadilla.

So, if you’re tired of rice, try bulgur – I got it in bulk at the health/organic/hippie food store here and it was super cheap – about $1.40 a pound.

Leave a Reply

