Bulgurritos and basketball

Quick dinner post during halftime…

I’m trying to convince my mom that bulgur is delicious and versatile, not scary or gross. So my current favorite grain was back tonight in its finest appearance in our household to date: bulgurritos! I had some leftover bulgur, but it wasn’t quite enough for my brilliant idea, so I made more. When it was done cooking, I added the rest of the black beans from Thursday night and a can of diced tomatoes and simmered for a few minutes. I put a few spoonfuls of that onto a whole wheat tortilla, added a little shredded chicken from last night, a little cheese, and microwaved for 30 seconds. Here’s what the innards looked like:

img_0670.jpg

I actually wanted more filling, but I knew I wouldn’t be able to close it if I did, so I had a little extra on the side:

img_0671.jpg

Mmmm. I also had the bright idea to use up the last of a bag of flour tortilla chips we had in the snack cabinet:

img_0672.jpg

There’s my new water bottle, making an appearance. The bulgurritos were really good and super filling, and we also had a little bit of the Surrender wine we bought today, which is a pretty awesome dessert wine. I’m really full now, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to resist cookie temptation.

Leave a Reply

