Snack spotlight

Snacks are a major part of my diet, and I try to use them to my best advantage by making them healthy and filling. Wednesday nights are always a little weird for me, because I go to a late kickboxing class, and figuring out what to eat beforehand is always a challenge. I need enough to fuel me for the workout and to keep me from stuffing my face when I get home at 9:15, but not so much food that I cramp up or feel sick. So I usually go for a small, early dinner and then a snack about an hour before I head out. Tonight’s dinner was a small serving of leftover chickpea hotpot with a slice of oatmeal bread. Now, as I start to get ready, I’m trying out a new snack creation.

I grabbed about 1/3 cup of Kashi Cinnamon Harvest, my favorite cold cereal, which is like shredded wheat, and 1/4 cup skim milk. On a whim, I warmed it up for 30 seconds in the microwave, and, because I’ve got a ton of produce to use, I added most of a peach. It’s got whole grains, protein, fiber and a serving of fruit, so it’s a perfect pre-workout snack. I typically don’t eat cold cereal for breakfast in the winter, but I may have to try this trick for breakfast sometime soon. It would probably be even better with a small banana instead of a peach.

img_0681.jpg

Leave a Reply

