Trying new things

I managed to work two new foods into my breakfast this morning. Matt was still asleep, and he has leftover banana oatmeal from yesterday to eat for breakfast, so I just made something quick that would keep me going at the gym later.

Quaker Simple Harvest Multigrain Hot Cereal was on sale a few weeks ago, and my mom sent me a box to try. I’ve had the Apples with Cinnamon once and liked it, though it’s pretty sweet, and I really like the Simple Harvest granola bars that I’ve tried. So I thought I’d give this kind a shot – Maple Brown Sugar with Pecans. Our skim milk expired yesterday, and I wasn’t in the mood for super sweet vanilla soy milk, so I tried another new purchase – unsweetened vanilla almond milk. I’m not lactose intolerant, but I’m definitely sensitive, so I often have to limit the amount of milk and yogurt I consume. So, I’m always looking for tasty alternatives. The almond milk smelled great and worked really well in the cereal. I tasted a sip and I don’t think I’ll be drinking it straight anytime soon, but in things it seems like it will be a really nice option for me.

So, here’s breakfast:

img_0694.jpg

A packet of Simple Harvest plus two tablespoons of plain instant oats (to bulk up the teeny 1/4 cup serving and cut the sweetness), made with 3/4 cup almond milk, half a grapefruit, and tea (coffee before the gym makes me nauseous, but I needed some caffeine). The hot cereal was pretty good, overall. The unsweetened milk and extra oats helped tone it down, but it was still sweeter than I’m used to. It’ll be great on rushed mornings, but I don’t think I’ll make it an everyday thing. It’s worth a try, though, and if you’re interested, you can order a free sample. It’s got a decent nutritional profile and the ingredients are all natural, so it’s definitely a good alternative to regular instant packet oatmeal.

Now, it’s off to the gym. It’s already a shockingly high 44 degrees here, and the forecast has today’s high at 67. It’s really windy out there, so it probably won’t feel that warm, but I’m still pretty excited. I hope we can get a nice outdoor walk in when I get done at the gym.

Welcome to March, which is National Nutrition Month, and home to March Madness, the greatest time of year.

Leave a Reply

