Sleepy Sunday

For some reason, I’ve been incredibly tired recently, and today was no exception. We got up, went out to breakfast, went to the laundromat, took some stuff to my office, went to the storage unit, stopped by Best Buy and came home. Breakfast really turned out to be brunch, because the gigantic serving of oatmeal, plus a side of fruit, plus part of a banana nut muffin kept me full all morning and into the afternoon. I was so exhausted that I actually took a mid-day nap. I used to nap almost every day, but that was a few years back, before I got my arthritis under control and started exercising regularly. Now it’s a rarity, and I take it to mean that I haven’t been sleeping enough lately.

Anyway, I woke up hungry for a snack, so I tried a new kind of snack bar, a Clif Kid ZBar in Peanut Butter. I was on a Clif Bar kick a few years ago, but I got really tired of them. They’re too big for a snack, and I don’t like having bars for meals unless it’s absolutely necessary. This kid-sized bar was pretty much perfect, with a pretty dense texture that kept me full until dinner was ready. I’ll definitely be picking more of these up soon.

img_0700.jpg

For dinner, I tried a new recipe: Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burritos. I got mine from the Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites cookbook, but you can find basically the same one here. Matt used to order sweet potato burritos at a restaurant we liked in Chapel Hill, so I thought it would be fun to try. The recipe was supposed to make 8 burritos, but it made so much filling that it was really more like 12, and we had to bake them in two batches. And we even omitted one of the three cans of beans called for. Here’s a fresh-from-the-oven shot:

img_0697.jpg
And here’s my meal, with a side of salsa and a little salad:

img_0698.jpg

I also made some chips to finish off my salsa:

img_0699.jpg

Now it’s time to clean up the kitchen, pack tomorrow’s lunch and maybe do some yoga. Have a good week!

2 Responses to Sleepy Sunday

  1. Donna says:

    Tell me a little about those interesting tortillas.

  2. netjenner says:

    They’re Archer Farms multigrain tortillas! Super crunchy and grainy. Targetortillas are my fave.

Leave a Reply

