Long weekend!

I’ve got a doctor’s appointment in Topeka tomorrow, and Matt’s joining me, so we decided to make a day of it and go do some shopping and eating in Lawrence. Exciting!

Afternoon snack

I had a Simple Harvest bar packed for my afternoon snack, but after giving a presentation where literally everything imaginable went wrong and I basically wanted to jump into a black hole, I decided to take advantage of the sunshine and get some fresh air by walking to Radina’s for coffee. I had a free drink card, and when I got there I decided to skip my usual cappuccino and try something new. I picked the yerba mate latte based on three things: Sara Snow gushed about yerba mate on her show a few weeks ago; I read on the internet that it “can literally conquer fatigue” (ha!); and I wanted energy but I’m trying to cut down on the caffeine. The description on the board read something like… high-energy caffeine-free herbal something or other. So, basically, it’s hippie coffee. You let the mate (similar to tea) steep for five minutes and then add it to sweetened milk. It was so sweet it actually gave me a headache, so I couldn’t even finish it. Blech. If it was toned down a little, I think I would have liked it, but from now on I’ll stick with tea in the afternoons.

Dinner

We’re going to be in Lawrence overnight, so I wanted to go ahead and finish up our leftover Balsamic Vegetable Tofu Medley from Monday. Since Matt’s still having teeth troubles, I also heated up some soup – my new favorite, Pacific Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato. I added some cooked lentils to bulk it up (thanks to Donna for the idea), and while I was at the grocery store I decided to pick up some brussels sprouts, which I was craving (yeah, I know). So I had a ton of those, cooked with lemon juice and garlic. So a nice veggie hodgepodge:

img_0708.jpg

I ate another serving of brussels sprouts, but only about half of the soup (I gave the rest to Matt).

I finished things off with some delightful pumpkin pie yogurt: 1/2 cup yogurt, 2 tbsp pumpkin, 1 crushed Mi-Del Honey graham and a few chocolate chips.

img_0709.jpg

I’m pretty beat again today (so much for the yerba mate conquering my fatigue), so now I’m off to pack and do some tidying up before our trip. I splurge a lot, food-wise, in Lawrence, because the restaurants there are so much better than anything we have here, so expect some exciting food photography!

Leave a Reply

