Souped up

Dinner

I wanted to make something soft for dinner so that Matt could have leftovers to eat after his root canal tomorrow. I also wanted it to be something healthy, because I’ve had kind of a lot of Nutella today. So, anyway, I had a bunch of lentils from Thursday (it was my first time making them and I had no idea that 1 cup dry = approximately 28734 cups cooked, give or take), a carrot, some green beans, and canned staples like broth and tomatoes, so I picked up an onion and some potatoes and made it all into vegetable soup.  Here’s the end result in our super hip new bowls from Urban Outfitters:

img_0723.jpg

Please ignore the background, or pretend that you do not see a potato in a measuring cup for no reason or wine in a free Cox Cable beer coozy. Focus on the bowls. Mine’s on the left, with a slice of steel cut oat bread from Wheatfields.

Here’s my recipe:

Heat 1 tsp of olive oil over medium for 5 minutes. Add a small onion, chopped finely. Cook for 2 minutes. Add garlic to taste. Cook for 4 more minutes, or until onion is tender.  Then add liquids – 3 cups of water, 2 cups of chicken broth. You can eyeball it with the water, I added more later. Then stir in a can of diced tomatoes, undrained. Add diced red potatoes and lima beans, bring to a boil and then decrease to a simmer. Stir in cumin, more garlic, and chili powder to taste. Simmer for 10 minutes. Add green beans (quartered) and 1-2 medium carrots, chopped into large-ish chunks. Simmer for 10 more minutes, stirring occasionally. Add 1/2 cup frozen corn and 1/2 cup cooked lentils. Simmer for 10 more minutes. Then you’re done!

My limas were still a little hard, I guess I didn’t cook them enough in advance. But all in all, good soup, and I think it’ll be even better leftover.

Post-Cleaning Snack 

After dinner, I got my laundry from the dryer, cleaned the bathroom, put away random groceries, cleaned the kitchen, unloaded and loaded the dishwasher, and started packing my lunch. I started my new medicine today, and it makes me kind of dizzy, so I had to take a break. Just in case my deficit of real food today (see earlier comment re: Nutella) was contributing to my dizziness as well, I decided to have a quick snack.

Here’s what greeted me when I opened up the fridge:

img_0725.jpg

People. This is what a yogurt problem looks like.

Okay, I can explain the Fage. People’s was out of Fage for a month or more, and it happened right after I tried Fage for the first time and realized that it is THE GREATEST YOGURT ON EARTH. So, I went last weekend to get my milk and they were finally restocked. I bought 6 and tried really hard not to embarrass myself by crying tears of joy in front of the super-condescending hippies that work there. Since then, I’ve eaten 2 and bought even more, including a couple at the Merc yesterday. I don’t even care that they cost more than 2 dollars each. And this is coming from a person who, just this morning, stood in front of the toilet paper aisle at Target and said to myself “do we really need this?” (reason won out). They are that good.

But, as is the case with everything I love, I will probably hoard these in the name of “saving” them, and will be left with 10 almost expired yogurts that I have to eat all in one day or something. So, even though I wanted to have one, I went with the less expensive (but also delicious) Brown Cow plain yogurt that you see on the shelf below. I mixed in some pumpkin, some brown sugar, some chocolate chips and a little bit of ginger hemp granola (which I do not love).

img_0726.jpg

Looks like Halloween. Maybe I’ll have a Fage tomorrow.

Okay, now I’m off to finish packing lunch and to soak my foot again. After grocery shopping, Target shopping, a trip to the carwash, laundry, cleaning, and a nice 4 mile walk with Matt (during which I wore a t-shirt. OUTSIDE. It was that lovely), it’s kind of screaming at me.

Wish me luck getting through this ridiculous week.

2 Responses to Souped up

  1. Becky says:

    Geez, thats like $85 worth of Fage!

  2. netjenner says:

    85 creamy, delicious dollars with honey on the side. Mmmmm.

Leave a Reply

