I have several things to talk about

I’ll break them down for you:

Cinnamon Toast

As my mom (a loyal reader) can attest, cinnamon toast was my top choice for breakfast every day during my sophomore and junior years of high school. I burned myself out on it then, and I haven’t really had it since….

Until now.

Seriously, what was I thinking? It’s probably the greatest thing you can make in about 3 seconds. I’ve been using my mini bagels, and I learned last week that having 1/2 of one prepped cinnamon toast style is probably the greatest 5:00am pre-gym snack I’ve ever come up with.

Also, it’s an excellent choice for weekend lunches. Here it is, featured with a delightful pear (also w/ cinnamon – it’s an addiction).

img_0738.jpg

Are you bored yet?

Target

I did grocery shopping in four separate locations today, including: Target, Dillon’s, Eastside Market and People’s. I actually did pretty well at Target, sticking to my list and not getting really excited and buying superfluous cleaning supplies or makeup or other things I ultimately won’t use. But, I just have to ask – what’s with the Target “wear to work” line? I mean, what exactly is it that these people think we do for work? Are we all meant to be professional… teenagers? Or peasants or something? Though I do remember that girl on Project Runway Season 3 who was involved with Target in some way and she got eliminated relatively early on, I think, so maybe that explains it.

Hummus

I have no idea why I’ve been avoiding hummus for all these years, but I think I must have had some kind of negative experience at some point. Anyway, I’ve had such good luck recently with trying foods I have always considered gross (pears, plain yogurt, mangoes, etc.), I decided to give it a shot.

It’s so good. I mean, really. I made a pita sandwich with it, and I threw in other things I love, just in case the hummus part didn’t work out. So here it is with a tiny yellow pepper, spinach and feta. Mmmm.

img_0739.jpg

Also with it, I had this Fage, which I’m showing you to prove that I really do eat them sometimes.

img_0741.jpg

Sorry for the weird flash/color issue. But, you know, at least it’s shiny.

Special Selection Sunday Dinner

Donna joined us for the NCAA tournament selection and bravely stayed to witness my preparation of a new recipe from the Veganomicon cookbook that I recently got from the library. Yes. We are vegans now.

Here’s the spread:

img_0742.jpg

Salad (prepared by Donna, with baby spinach, grape tomatoes, colorful peppers, and some kind of delicious basil-y vinaigrette dressing), baked sweet potato fries (sliced perfectly by Matt) and Black Bean Burgers on square bagelbread. With swiss cheese. Ooops. We are not vegans anymore.

Oh, and apparently, swiss cheese is naturally lactose free. Do you understand that? Because I don’t.

This was my first attempt at homemade vegetarian burgers. I’ve always thought they would taste too much like dirt. Wrong! These are awesome. I think this will be my new go-to meat substitute (sorry Morningstar Farms meal starters). I can imagine a “ground” version being really good in chili and other similar things. Check out the Veganomicon if you can get a hold of it. There are about 200 other recipes in there that I’m excited to try.

I followed it up with my favorite thing about Easter:

img_0743.jpg

Shiny.

Okay, this post, with its several different parts, took a lot out of me, and now I’m going to pretend to clean and then go to sleep.

5 Responses to I have several things to talk about

  1. Donna says:

    Those black bean burgers were perhaps the best meatless burger I’ve ever had. Can we form a home-based business around them?

  2. netjenner says:

    I think that would be a brilliant start for a cottage industry. Let’s table the cupcake thing, as per our discussion earlier. Now, do you know anyone with expertise in freeze-drying? I think that might be necessary here. Maybe we could get someone from the Fort? They must have someone who makes MREs if they run out.

  3. Dayna says:

    I like that you have a store called People’s.

    Reece’s eggs are good, but everyone knows the best thing about Easter is Cadbury Creme Eggs. YUM.

  4. arielle says:

    Okay, so this is extremely delayed, but two things: First, I remember People’s! Well, obviously you still have it, but it got bought out by CVS where I grew up. I hope we’re talking about the same thing and you don’t think I’m crazy.

    And, second thing, my boyfriend one time was like, I tried to make myself cinnamon toast this morning and it didn’t taste good. Well, after some troubleshooting, we determined that at the age of 29, he didn’t know that cinnamon isn’t the same thing as cinnamon sugar. So he just dumped a bunch of cinnamon on a piece of bread and expected magic. Which, if made correctly, is what cinnamon toast is. Magic.

  5. Jenny says:

    Dayna-

    My sister ate a Cadbury Creme Egg. And THE SAME DAY she had to go to the ER. True story.

    Arielle-

    I do know what you’re talking about! Sadly, the People’s here is our coop grocery. It’s approximately the size of my apartment. Which is not big. Think five aisles.

    Cinnamon toast seems to baffle many people. When I posted this, my sister emailed me to ask how I made it. I thought it was one of those innate human gifts. Wrong! I think non-cinnamon toast people are lucky to have people like us around to help them. It’s like charity.

Leave a Reply

