Squashta (like pasta – but squash)

I was at a conference today (technically, an unconference, which is just a conference, but free, and even chattier), which means that my social anxiety kicked in and I ate a lot more than I wanted or needed. Chips and such.

Even after I got home, ran errands, and went to the gym, I still wasn’t that hungry (read: I filled up on a bunch of the Trader Joe’s trail mix that my mom sent me), so I decided to make spaghetti squash, which takes awhile. Matt, who was scarred by an undercooked spaghetti squash incident a few years ago, was at work, so I took advantage of the opportunity to make it for myself. I’d bought ingredients to make my own marinara for the first time, but I got nervous and Donna had to come over to supervise me (and watch Top Chef). It turned out delightfully well:

img_0748.jpg

For the spaghetti squash: cut it in half with a gigantic knife (I only cut myself once!), scoop out seeds and pulp, roast with flesh side up in a 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes. When you can poke at the fleshy part and your fork/knife goes in easily, it’s done. When it’s cool enough, scrape out the insides, which will look like spaghetti. Mmmm.

The marinara had zucchini in it, so this was a super squash meal.

2 Responses to Squashta (like pasta – but squash)

  1. chandra says:

    Incase you’re interested in a quick cook method – my mom taught me to cook spaghetti squash in the microwave… You do the normal prep (Cut in half, remove the guts), then place it peel side up on a plate, cover the plate with plastic wrap, and microwave for 7-10 minutes, or until the skin is poke-able like you said before. You can basically only cook one half at a time, but it’s much quicker than the oven!

  2. netjenner says:

    Hey, thanks! That’s very exciting – I wouldn’t have to plan so far in advance with that trick.

Leave a Reply

