Comfort; food.

I can’t wait to post my dinner here one day and be able to say “Today, I felt awesome!”

Sadly, today is not that day. In spite of being a walking health problem, I try to be active and positive and have a good attitude and things like that. That can be hard to maintain when you’re happily exercising at 5:30 in the morning, surrounded by other (clearly insane) people who exercise that early, listening to, I don’t know, Galaxie 500 or something and wondering if it’s weird that something slow like that can get you pumped before it’s even light outside, and then suddenly you are almost passing out on the stair climber thing and you have to wade your way through weird tunnel vision to go lie down. In the gym bathroom. Luckily, there was a bench, so it wasn’t on the floor or anything. But, still. Ewwww.

So, that was my morning. And, like an idiot, I just came home and rested and got ready for work like nothing happened. And then, suddenly I realized that sort of fainting at the gym was probably, I don’t know, not a good thing. So I called my doctor’s office and the nurse said “Jenny, what happened?” in a very mom way and they told me I needed to come in. I had several new experiences, including an EKG and a chest x-ray, and several old experiences, like a peak flow test and some other lung tests. I left with a prescription, several more appointments with medical professionals, a mandate to cut back on my exercise for a few weeks, and a crazy bad headache from having to breathe in and out so many times.

I came home, worked for a few hours, tried to be fine and then completely crashed at about 3 in the afternoon. I woke up, luckily, in time for Carolina’s sweet sixteen game, which I’m still enjoying now. I made a delightfully comforting pot of chili using a new recipe from Cooking Light. I’m working on my food photography. How am I doing? Here’s some Three Bean Chili:

img_0768.jpg

With some plain yogurt because I always forget to buy sour cream.

And, because I had a headache, roasted brussels sprouts:

img_0769.jpg

All together, with a mini bagel and my 89th glass of water today:

img_0771.jpg

I have some more yogurt that’s going to expire, so I’ll probably have that in a little bit. It’ll go nicely with my special new tea:

img_0772.jpg

I know – the fussy title also made me nervous. But it’s really, really good. This is my third cup today.

2 Responses to Comfort; food.

  1. Donna says:

    Impressive pictures, there. Also, it has to be said that I’ve never known anyone to eat brussels sprouts as often as you.

  2. Julz says:

    Haha, try, “because I’m obsessed with Brussel Sprouts”…I had Brussel Sprouts. ULTIMATE comfort food and I’m going to go prep and roast mine now! 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

