Pretty penne

After another crap day, a ridiculously easy and delightful dinner was just what I needed. I won’t even go into it. I know you’re getting tired of it. I did, however, find out what’s wrong with my foot – it’s sesamoiditis! Yes, it’s real. I looked it up. I have to get special inserts for my shoes. Seriously, it’s like I get cooler and cooler with each passing day.

Okay, I lied. I’m going into it. The good news is, today’s lameness was totally unrelated to my health, which seems to be returning to me (or else I’m just so happy from all the flaxseed that I’m not realizing how bad it is). It was all work-related and (hopefully) temporary, which is, I guess, better than a permanent health problem. So, I like my job. I make websites and I teach people things. Those are pretty much the two things I’m good at, professionally, so it’s a good fit. But some days, I don’t know. Some days, it’s like the people I teach DO NOT WANT TO BE TAUGHT. Tell me, what’s not to love when it comes to learning how to do research?

Oh well, I’ll always have that website thing. I’ve heard the internet is probably going to catch on and all that.

Ahh, remember when I was still pretending that this is a blog about food? And not a place to process my thoughts and feelings until Matt gets home?

Anyway, dinner. Why have I not been making this every day for the last few years? Here’s penne with lime roasted tomatoes and asparagus.

img_0796.jpg

There’s some feta in there, too. Also, this serving looks small because I had already eaten part of it. And a lot of post-work, pre-dinner candy. Again. (Is it a special kind of emotional eating if you actually walk to the candy store in the mall, buy a bag of candy, and eat it on your way home?)

I’ve roasted asparagus tons of times, but never tomatoes. WHY? Why have I never thought of this? They were so good. I roasted a pint of grape tomatoes (my favorite) with 1/2 bunch of asparagus, cut in half, at 425 for about 20 minutes. Then I added some lime juice. And some black pepper. Crushed red pepper might have also been nice, for a kick. With these little tomatoes, it was really easy to tell when they were done roasting, because they got all wrinkly.

img_0795.jpg

They tasted better than they look.

I plan to make this again. About four times a week until fall rolls around and I can switch the vegetables to be more seasonal.

2 Responses to Pretty penne

  1. geektress says:

    This looks delicious. I definitely need to try this! I love roasted tomatoes.

  2. Jenny says:

    Thanks! It was pretty awesome. Yeah, roasted tomatoes are where it’s at.

Leave a Reply

