Cheesesteaks

Tara and Donna convinced me to go to Houlihan’s with them after work, which could have derailed my dinner plans – if I didn’t have such an iron will. While there, I ate a couple of chicken lettuce wrap things and some nachos. I was feeling slightly (massively) guilty about the nachos by the time I got home, so I decided to at least round things out, nutritionally, by making myself a smaller version of the dinner I planned. Luckily, Matt came home from work starving, so it all worked out. Here’s half of a vegetarian cheesesteak with some kale chips:

img_0800.jpg

I’ve been fascinated by the idea of kale chips for a few weeks, but I haven’t been able to find kale at Dillon’s. Until now. Totally worth the wait. I mean, for some bright green leafy things, they tasted almost disturbingly like regular potato chips.

img_0798.jpg

These cheesesteaks were the first recipe I tried from Skinny Bitch in the Kitch, though it would’ve been easy enough for me to invent it on my own. I am not terribly impressed by these self-proclaimed “skinny bitches,” and I’m glad that I didn’t buy this book. The recipes are fine but not mind-blowing. And, I’m sorry, but I have some issues with people who are all “processed foods are evil” and then use vegan cheese (“cheeze”) in everything. How is that not processed? Does vegan cheese just… happen? Naturally? As in, in nature?

No.

Vegans can school me on this if necessary. I’m not afraid to admit that I’m wrong. Anyway, these were delicious.

img_0799.jpg

(Not vegan cheese)

Now I’m off to sleep before I pass out on the couch and get all belligerent with Matt when he tries to convince me to go to bed.

3 Responses to Cheesesteaks

  1. geektress says:

    Are the Kale Chips crunchy? I tried Snow Pea crisps the other day, and they were a really good alternative for chips.

  2. Jenny says:

    yep, they’re crunchy. Although, maybe crispy is a more accurate description. Snow pea crisps sound awesome. How did you make them?

  3. geektress says:

    They were actually purchased from either a Trader Joe’s or a Whole Foods. I tried them last week when I was babysitting for this lady. She was very in to organic items, so she was definitely a role model for me.

Leave a Reply

