Something new

I’ve never made eggplant parmesan before, and I’m not even 100% sure that I’ve ever had it. But for whatever reason, I was resolved to make it tonight. I read a few recipes and got a little overwhelmed, so I just made something up. I sliced up a small eggplant into 1/4 inch slides and let them soak for 30 minutes. Then, I dipped each one in egg whites and then in a mixture of whole wheat breadcrumbs, parmesan, basil, and garlic. Then I baked them on a cookie sheet at 400 for about 20 minutes, flipping after 10. I pulled them out and added a little mozzarella and a little more parmesan and stuck them back in for about 5 minutes.

I also made a really simple garlic and basil marinara to top the eggplant, along with some lemon garlic baby brussels sprouts. And Matt made some garlic bread. Do you see the theme? Luckily, I’m not leaving the house.

I ate more eggplant than this, I just kept my first serving small because I wasn’t sure how it would taste. My eggplant was good, but Matt’s wasn’t. I gave him larger slices, and they were super bitter. I thought that soaking them would cut the bitterness, but I guess I was wrong. The smaller rounds tasted fine, but the larger ones were majorly bitter. Any suggestions?

I was having breathing problems again today, and after running a ton of errands, I’m pretty much ready to crawl into bed and get a solid fourteen hours of sleep. Plus, Matt just changed seized control of the remote, and there’s no reason to stay awake if I can’t watch the America’s Next Top Model marathon on VH1.

Oh yeah. I also had something new with lunch:

That’s right, I’ve never had a sandwich.

No, just kidding. This sandwich was new, though. At People’s this morning, I picked up some agave nectar for a recipe I want to try sometime soon. I keep reading about it and how awesome it is, so I decided to give it a shot for lunch, and I made a grilled almond butter and agave sandwich. It basically looks like honey, but it’s muuuuuch sweeter. I’ll have to remember to cut down on the amount next time. Anyway, there it is with half a pear with cinnamon. I left the cinnamon out and later accidentally sprinkled it in the marinara sauce. And by sprinkled, I mean, dumped. Oops. Matt didn’t even notice.

Leave a Reply

