What can brown do for me?

A few weeks (months? time flies when you’re Dutifully Serving the Public) ago at work, we did a customer service forum thing, where we were all handed a slip of paper with a slogan, and we had to sit at the table of the company our slogan represented. I think I made that sound more complicated than it is. So, I got “Can you hear me now?” and sat at the Verizon table. One of them was “What can brown do for you?,” which, having only recently re-entered the world of television not originating from DVD format, I didn’t really recognize. Apparently, it is the “catchy” slogan of UPS, and…

Oh god, it’s happening again. Ever since I came down with my current ailment, I’ve been having trouble staying on message.

So, dinner was brown:

Although, there are a few nice splashes of color. This is a lentil salad, inspired by Couch Cubicle. It’s basically lentils with red peppers, mushrooms, spinach, grape tomatoes, feta and a little balsamic vinegar. I had it with brown rice and some crushed up cashews, which I have been hiding from myself since my last bender. After I took this picture, I threw some curry powder on, which actually made for a nice contrast to the sweetness of the balsamic vinegar.

Then, I did some frantic cleaning to prepare for my mom’s arrival tomorrow. The whole apartment smells like gardenias. It’s kind of giving me a headache. After I finished, I had dessert:

I cut up a pineapple for the first time today, and I didn’t even hurt myself. There’s some of that under there, and then some yogurt, flaxseed, Target cereal, a few sliced almonds, and some frozen blueberries. I thought they would make it taste like ice cream. They did not.

I have no idea why my hand looks so red and shiny. I think I need to use some of my tax refund to get my own camera, because I clearly lack skill with Matt’s. I also need to use some of it to get a bike, so I can be like this hipster girl we saw outside the grocery store the other day, with her Pumas and rolled up pants and a box of Corn Pops displayed prominently in her bike basket. I thought I was suddenly on the set of Juno or something. Which, for the record, was an okay movie, but DO NOT read Diablo Cody’s memoir. Seriously. I can’t stress this enough.

Remember what I said about losing the message?

No pictures from last night’s dinner, because I was feeling lightheaded at the end of the workday and somehow decided that the best way to remedy that would be to take a 2 and a half mile walk to eat Chinese food. We always love Happy Valley, but last night, it tasted like mall food and, because I am ruthless, I have stricken from the list of acceptable restaurants.

The rest of yesterday was stupid, and I’m pretending it didn’t happen. Oh, except for the part where we watched the first episode of VH1’s Miss Rap Supreme, which Matt DVRed for me on Monday. The White Rapper Show was my favorite show of 2007, and this has even more venom and cursing, so I’m really looking forward to it.

Tomorrow, I’ll be picking my mom up in Kansas City at 5ish, and hopefully we’ll be able to eat at Ingredient in Lawrence. Nothing cures a mall food experience like a giant salad with salmon and chips in it.

2 Responses to What can brown do for me?

  1. geektress says:

    My mom works at UPS and HATES that slogan. She still has people today (even though it came out probably 4 or 5 years ago), that go “What can you do for me?” And they mean it in a completely perverted way. Some people are just jerks. Haha.

  2. arielle says:

    Who hasn’t had a cashew bender? Seriously.

Leave a Reply

