Some kind of chicken

When I was growing up, we weren’t a very adventurous family in terms of eating. This explains why I’d never eaten totally normal things like pears or hummus until recently. So, pretty much every night for dinner, when I’d ask my mom what we were having, she’d say “Oh, some kind of chicken.” And so, every time I make chicken, I think of her, fondly. Especially tonight, since she actually provided the chicken that I so expertly prepared.

Spicy Citrus Chicken Packets with vegetables and couscous

With some ginger beer. To be followed later by barley beer. You know how much I love my grains.

Close-up of the chicken packets. It’s a fancy way of saying: cooked in foil. This is a Clean Eating recipe that Matt requested. Something about those orange slices just makes the chicken so much better.

Lime roasted asparagus and zucchini balls. These are the guts left from last night, professionally melon-balled by Matt.

I think I’ll have some fruit in a little bit. We have a mango that’s looking kind of sad.

The farmer’s market started up again today, which is quite exciting, because it’s right across the street from our apartment. Last year, we only went once, but I think we’ll be hitting it every week this spring/summer. Especially now that I know about all of the baked goods. The produce was still a little sketchy, but I picked up some cheap local spinach that looked decent, so we’ll see what I can do with that.

I also did the Arthritis Walk with Matt and Donna, went to the gym, got coffee, did some work, and now Matt’s watching No Country for Old Men and I’m trying really hard not to because it’s a little intense for my current state of mind. So, I think I’ll drink some beer and eat some fruit and call it a night at like 8:30. Perfect. That should give me a good, solid 12 hours of sleep and make it easier to face my Sunday.

5 Responses to Some kind of chicken

  1. glidingcalm says:

    The chicken stays really moist when you cook it in the “packets” right? How much liquid do you need with the chicken?

  2. Jenny says:

    Hi glidingcalm –

    Yep, it’s super moist in the packets. I think that’s the best part. I used no liquid at all, just washed them, seasoned them, added orange slices, wrapped them up, and baked them for 20 minutes. It’s kind of magical…

  3. arielle says:

    my mom did that too. and my dad called almost everything ratatouille. Which basically means throwing a bunch of shit into a pan until it cooks for so long that you can’t tell what it is anymore.

  4. Jenny says:

    That ratatouille thing is pretty brilliant. I’m going to start doing that.

  5. See Food says:

    […] « Cheap and easy June 17, 2008 I’m not sure if this qualifies as “some kind of chicken” because my mom would’ve hated […]

Leave a Reply

