Eating local

We’re lucky to live in a state that is so heavy on the agriculture, because we can buy local produce, dairy products, baked goods, etc. And by baked goods, I mean cookies.

So, at the first farmer’s market of the season, I picked up some spinach. I buy those plastic containers of baby spinach all the time, but I’ve never cooked regular fresh spinach. It was much easier than I expected. Also, even more awesome. I made “Garlicky Spinach” from Joy of Cooking.

Now, I’ll admit it. It could have been the cheese that made it so good. But Matt had his sans cheese and he liked it, too. It’s always exciting to find a vegetable that I can effectively cook, especially when I only paid a dollar for a basket of it.

We had it with some pasta topped with a sauce I made to use the rest of the zucchini balls.

I was really hungry so I just snapped this picture before inhaling my dinner, but maybe you can appreciate it for its representation of the gritty realities of my life. Yes, those are our recyclables. And, yes, that is a pink heart-shaped tablespoon (it was ON SALE). Also featured is the top of a juicer. I don’t know where the bottom is so I just… leave it on the counter. Next to the tofu.

I’m going to continue working on the assumption that we all live this way. Please don’t ruin it for me.

I’m going to go clean up now. Something smells funny in here. I can’t help but think it could be related to an incident that occurred on Saturday night in which our upstairs neighbors broke the tank of their toilet and water suddenly rushed into our shower and light fixture and shot out of our electrical sockets. You haven’t lived until you’ve had to create a makeshift indoor umbrella to use in your own bathroom, just in case someone else’s refuse happens to rain down on you.

Actually, just writing about that makes me tired. Maybe I’ll go to sleep instead. I’m experimenting with my work schedule and I worked an extra hour today. Once you factor in cooking time, a few episodes of The Wire, and a good chunk of time spent thinking about what I should be doing (dishes, ironing, investigating the stink), you’ve got bedtime.

3 Responses to Eating local

  1. glidingcalm says:

    Haha I love that tablespoon! And your spinach DOES look delish!

  2. arielle says:

    Ha, your bathroom situation makes me feel much better about ours. Sorry.

  3. Jenny says:

    Glidingcalm-

    It’s a set! One of them passed away in an unfortunate garbage disposal incident, but the rest of them are intact. I love them for dry foods, but stuff like peanut butter gets stuck in the heart’s little bumps.

    Arielle-

    At least I know something good came out of it. The best part was when the people up there came down to “let us know what was going on.” Because we couldn’t have figured it out on our own. Anyway, our landlord did reduce our rent for next month, so there’s 50 dollars I can spend on yogurt or whatever. You should ask for that, too.

Leave a Reply

