This is the greatest thing that I have ever made.

Barley Risotto with Asparagus and Parmesan

I have no idea how it turned out so well. I’m a perfectly competent cook, and I like what I make most of the time. But this was in a class by itself. I’ve only had risotto once or twice, and only in restaurants. And since rice isn’t always my #1 grain, I liked it even better with the barley.

I’ve been intrigued by this recipe for a week or so, but I didn’t want to make it tonight because I didn’t get home until after 7, but after taking stock of my vegetable situation, I saw that the asparagus wasn’t going to make it much longer. So I bit the bullet, figuring it would be an okay night for dinner to turn out poorly, since Matt’s at work. I should have a similarly pessimistic attitude every night, and see if all of my meals turn out this well. And now I really want Matt to get home and try it so that I can see if maybe it was just me.

I’ve had terrible allergies since I was in middle school, I think. I may have the year confused, but really, I can trace most of my health problems to 7th grade cheerleading camp, so I’ve decided that’s when my allergies started. Today I walked around like a zombie with enormous red eyes and a sniffing problem. So, like a junkie, really. Anyway, one of the reasons that I didn’t get home until 7 was that I went to buy this:

That’s my new BFF, the neti-pot. I had just rinsed it, so that’s water. Not anything gross. If you’re unfamiliar with this magical contraption, here’s a video for your educational pleasure:

I have to say, it was much messier than this clip would have you believe. But that’s okay, because I can actually breathe through my nose again.

Which seemed like the perfect opportunity to enjoy some granola.

Hey it’s 9! That means it’s almost time to force-feed Matt some risotto and get all in his face, saying “Is it good? It’s good, right? Really good, right? RIGHT?”

5 Responses to This is the greatest thing that I have ever made.

  1. Tara says:

    Your netti pot looks much nicer than mine. Mine looks like the one in the youtube video. With the one I have, I’m never sure if I should water my plants or pee in it.

  2. Did you go for a thin spear or a thick one? Martha Stewart prefers a fat stem, she finds them more succulent.

    this is a very funny blog about it…

    http://myherooftheday.com/?p=316

  3. arielle says:

    It worked? Really?? Everyone says it works, but I made Chris do it and he says it doesn’t.

    Me, I’m too scared. I practically hold my nose in the shower.

  4. Jenny says:

    Tara-

    Sounds like the perfect household item!

    myherooftheday-

    Sorry, I don’t believe in Martha Stewart.

    Arielle-

    It worked for me! I mean, my allergies didn’t magically disappear the way they sort of make it seem, but I could breathe through my nose again! It’s a really uncomfortable feeling at first, though, like you’ve just been shoved into a pool.

  5. […] was so good. Like, almost barley risotto levels of good. Sometimes I think back to the food I was eating when I was trying lose weight and […]

Leave a Reply

