Cinco de Mayo

I know it’s not really Mexico’s Independence Day, but isn’t it nice to have a fake holiday in early May?

It was a nice day today, not that I would know. I am not allowing myself to be outside until we are safely into June and the pollen has all been burned to death by the scorching Kansas sun. And then I will only go out long enough to complain about how hot it is.

In honor of Cinco de Mayo, I made something new –

from Dreena Burton’s Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan, which finally came through via interlibrary loan for me (for “research”).

There’s the veggie-sizzle part. It’s basically a big stir fry with zucchini, green peppers, mushrooms, spices, and some beans. Then you shove it into tortillas.

Since the burritos were vegan, I made some nachos. For extra protein. And a salad. For extra virtue.

These were really good, but I think I need more beans next time, or a bigger burrito, because I was still starving after I finished this one. I was halfway through another one when I happened to look at the tortilla package and see that they trans fat. Gross. I went all over the world to find stupid tortillas without hydrogenated oils and then I get ones with trans fats. Will I ever learn? Anyway, I scooped out the filling from the rest of the second one and ate that. And some ice cream. And some almond butter. I think I’m full now. Maybe.

Of course, we do have five trans fat burritos left. I guess I’ll toss them into our mysteriously smelly refrigerator and see what happens.

One Response to Cinco de Mayo

  1. glidingcalm says:

    man that looks yum.
    by the way, i love that you put cheese on your black bean burger. it looks delicious…im totally with you on taking the vegan recipes and adding dairy and meat and honey. but probably not all together.

Leave a Reply

