Manwich

Matt made dinner tonight, while I was at the gym huffing and puffing my way through a 3-2-1 class. Seriously, nothing can make 24 seem ancient quite like doing aerobics with college students. But, whatever, it was my first class since I started having all of my lung problems, so props to me for getting through it.

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but Matt’s kind of magical in his grilled cheese abilities. Mine always pretty much suck, and I tell myself that it’s because grilling is man cooking. Am I right?

Yes.

The grilled cheeses that he made for us tonight were from Ellie Krieger’s cookbook, which came in for me at the library last week. It is no secret that I love Ellie Krieger and want to be her. I’m not proud of my borderline obsession with her, but I’m not not proud. Anyway, because it was an Ellie recipe, it was fancy, so instead of grilled cheese we had sweet and spicy grilled cheese. Here’s a close up:

These were so good. Two kinds of cheese, caramelized onion, tomatoes…. mmmm. It’s basically my perfect meal, in sandwich form. Thanks, Matt!

I made a spinach and strawberry salad with balsamic vinaigrette to have on the side, and we also had some fruit salad that I picked up at the grocery store today. And, to round out the meal, chips.

These are those Flat Earth veggie chips. I mean, 1/2 a serving of veggies in every serving of chips? That I can get behind.

I didn’t finish my fruit salad because the sandwich was so filling. I think I’m going to be regretting that
in about two hours, because I’m about to go to work to serve caffeinated beverages to students busy studying for finals. Seeing those crazed study eyes is bound to give me flashbacks to college and grad school, and that’s going to make me want to stress eat.

Maybe I’ll pack some cookies.

One Response to Manwich

  1. arielle says:

    Seriously, what is it? Because Chris makes the best grilled cheese I’ve ever had. Especially when he’s drunk. He wouldn’t get down with the caramelized onions and tomatoes, though. I’m jealous of you.

Leave a Reply

