Everything tastes good when you don’t know how it’s supposed to taste.

Right?

So, last night I made two things I’ve neither prepared nor eaten before: tabbouleh and falafel (I know! I lack culture). I thought they both turned out pretty well, but then, really, what do I know?

There’s the falafel. I know, it looks sort of creepy.

And there’s the tabbouleh. If you’re down with grains, as I am, you may notice that it’s not traditional tabbouleh because it’s made with quinoa instead of bulgur. Really, I think we get enough bulgur around here. And my sister made quinoa recently, which made me realize that it’s been awhile.

I also had more roasted broccoli because it’s maybe the best thing that happened to me all week.

I was going to post this last night, but they were doing stuff to the sewers in our neighborhood and spraying our car with weird steam. I don’t want to know what was in it. Anyway, I had to go out and move it, because… gross. And then I was agitated.

I’m tired now, because I woke up at 3am, hungry and plagued by searing arthritis pain in my knee. At 5, I limped around and got ready for the gym as usual and then I actually laughed out loud at myself and my spunky stupidity and can-do attitude. Then I went back to sleep.

I just got back from a work thing, where I tried really hard to keep my weight off my bad knee and to eat a lot of broccoli and strawberries and grapes so that I wouldn’t be tempted to pick up the entire block of cheese from the cutting board or eat seven pieces of carrot cake. What? It’s got vegetables. So anyway, no actual dinner. I’ll probably have some tabbouleh about 15 seconds after I hit publish. Matt’s on the phone with his brother talking about simulated basketball games and I’m falling asleep on the couch and it’s a standard Friday night here at the See Food mansion. The big news is that we have air conditioning in the bedroom now. I hope it gets so cold in there tonight that it freezes my tears of happiness.

I’m not sure if I’ll be posting tomorrow because we’re going to a high school basketball exhibition kind of deal, featuring some players who are going to be college players soon, presumably. At which point they will become very important to me because of my freakish, out-of-character love of college basketball, so I’m trying to get invested early. It’s supposed to start at 8am (I will not be there) and last until… 12 hours later or something. Let’s see if I make it that long.

3 Responses to Everything tastes good when you don’t know how it’s supposed to taste.

  1. debbie says:

    i admire your spunk, and i don’t think it is stupid at all. i also admire your ability with tempeh. i tried it this year in some cajun spicey chili thing and it was semi-disastrous. well, actually totally disastrous.
    help me, please. also how long and how hot do you roast brocoloci, as andrew used to call it. sounds yummy!
    buon appettito.

  2. Jenny says:

    Thanks, Debbie! I roasted the brocoloci in the toaster oven at about 350 for 15 minutes. The toaster oven seems to roast veggies faster than the regular oven, so I’d probably do about 400 for 12-15. It’s really good! Maybe we should make some tempeh in August.

  3. debbie says:

    jenny, thanks for the roasting brocoloci tip. i will try it this week. you have inspired me to cook again, and my husband is very happy and thanks you profusely!
    you know what they say about the way to a man’s heart, and as sexist as that sounds, i think it is really true. and i think it is the way to a woman’s heart too. so i guess it’s not all that sexist after all.

    we were at the farmer’s mkt. yesterday. it has become a sunday ritual. the colors were vibrant, and they remind me of your beautiful fruit salad. i will take you there this summer.

    teaching me your tempeh tricks of the trade this august, (my how alliterative i am so early in the a.m.) sounds like a plan. –

    hope you feel good this week. tell matt i am waiting patiently for the ellie krieger recipes he promised to send.

Leave a Reply

