99% local

Well, we ate local and I have the bruises to prove it. You’ll see.

I was really productive today and checked off maybe 42 things from my to do list. Granted, I’m one of those people who adds things they’ve already done, just to check them off. But, whatever. I’d say that 47 or however many things is still a lot.

After kickboxing, I had to go to Target to get a new prescription filled and to pick up some absolute essentials like conditioner and Now and Laters. By the time I got home I thought I was going to die, and Matt was wasting away on the couch so I made my quick local dinner. Things got thrown off track when the local cheese I already had on hand turned out to be bad (which I didn’t know until I ate some of it). I had to run to the grocery store. I literally ran. I was that hungry. And still in my gym clothes so it looked normalish.

Anyway, here’s what we had:

Spinach/tomato/cheese/egg scramble with a strawberry salad w/ honey dressing and kale chips. The 1% non-local food was a little olive oil. I need to do research, but I’m guessing we don’t have olives here.

What would have made this perfect would have been some goat cheese. I know there are goats around here, so I’m going to have to look into that.

I went back for seconds on the kale chips and the salad, and while I was eating the salad, I also, inadvertently, ate half a bug. The other half is on the floor somewhere, where I threw it, screaming. I was screaming, not the bug. That would have been horrifying.

Matt was in charge of washing the greens. That’s all I’m going to say.

His response? “Like my dad always said, bugs indicate freshness.”

I’m trying to work through it.

Last night we had balsamic chicken with steamed green beans/asparagus and whole wheat couscous. See:

Tasty.

Miss Rap Supreme is on, so I’m outta here.

One Response to 99% local

  1. debbie says:

    hey j,
    that is great you and matt helped with the clean up.
    tim did the same thing years ago in raleigh for colleagues at northern telecom. the whole side of the house was gone,contents of the home hanging in the pine trees and the baby crib was intact (baby was fine)
    he said the whole thing was surreal.

    yesterday at the farmers’ market, we met a young couple from the Kansas side of Kansas city, who have been living in raleigh for 4 years. i told him my son lives in manhattan, and he said ‘oh they were just hit with a tornado’ and i said ‘yeah, i know.’
    he tried (unsuccessfully) to quell my anxiety about you guys dealing/living with tornadoes; he says when he hears the siren, he goes outside. he says they are beautiful. i guess he is one of those tornado chaser guys. i guess, too, it is totally different if you are born and raised there. aside from his love of tornadoes, he was great. his wife had just finished running the Race for the Cure run at meredith.

    we are off to briggs for a father’s day brunch!
    thanks for the kale tip. i will try it soon.

Leave a Reply

