Stress eating

Last night, I was in a great mood because I was elated by the outcome of Top Chef and the fact that Matt brought home cupcakes with sprinkles on the icing and then the tornado sirens went off again. we’d been in a watch all afternoon but apparently that’s normal for June, though I think “normal” is a complicated word in this context. It was an advance warning, so we had time to run to Donna’s so that we could take cover in her basement.

It was just like last week except that, this time, the tornado came through our town. This is the first time in 30 years? More than that? I don’t know. The first time in a long time, at any rate. We are safe, and our house and car are fine, but there’s damage everywhere. The tornado, which was more than 1/4 mile wide when it got here, touched down three times in town, including once on campus, where it caused more than 20 million dollars in damage. We weren’t able to work today, which was good because I’m in a fragile state of mind. I went to the gym a few hours ago and it was kind of surreal, like you’re driving and it looks like there was a really bad storm, branches everywhere, that kind of thing. And then suddenly it’s 10,000 times worse and you can actually see, in a very clear line, how the tornado moved through, taking off roofs and things like that. There’s metal everywhere, and insulation from houses, and trees and power lines down. It’s… I don’t know.

So I needed a comforting dinner. I also needed something filling because I did a “Rep Recycle” class at the gym which made me feel basically like a puke bucket should’ve been included on the list of equipment needed for the class, along with a step, two sets of weights, a mat, and a barbell. Seriously. That’s a lot of equipment. And I’m clumsy. So I needed this

I had a better picture but I accidentally deleted it and by that time things didn’t look very photogenic. Here’s a stuffed baked potato with some ground turkey breast, salsa, a little cheddar, and some sour cream. Kale chips and broccoli on the side. Multiply that serving by two because I went back to finish off the veggies.

I’m off to try to relax now.

4 Responses to Stress eating

  1. Aimee says:

    Glad you ok. But still very scarey!

  2. debbie says:

    andrew and i just read today’s blog. how frightening. thank God for Donna and her basement!
    so relieved you guys are okay.

    the aftermath must be an awful sight.

    now food- what are kale chips? are they good?
    in the photos they look rather lettucey and chippy and all. where do i find them?

    stay safe.

  3. debbie says:

    i meant to say ‘rather more lettucey than chippy’
    i do realize those 2 words prob. don’t exist.
    but you know the boggle queen when it comes to words.

  4. Jenny says:

    Aimee-
    Thanks! But yep, really scary!

    Debbie-
    We did some volunteer work today, cleaning up damaged houses and it was unreal.

    The kale chips are actually very chippy, to me. They’re crispy and thing. Basically roasted kale. I love them! I make them myself, just roasting kale at about 375 for around 12-15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

