Detox

Last night I went out with some friends for a dinner/drinks thing to celebrate my upcoming nuptials. We went to Coco Bolo’s, where I had a salad with shrimp, chicken, and pico de gallo, and some crazy banana/rum/ice cream dessert that set me on a really bad path for the evening. I bet most people wake up with a normal hangover after their bridal showers/bachelorette parties, but not me. I woke up with a sugar hangover. I had that banana thing, most of a piece of baklava, half of a “magic bar” which had coconut, chocolate, 46 tons of sugar, and a bunch of crack or something in it to make it almost impossible to stop eating. And some “dirty shirleys” which have 7-Up and grenadine. I haven’t been able to eat anything remotely sweet all day. Even smelling my peanut butter, which is only made from peanuts, made me feel a little sickly.

We volunteered to help with the post-tornado clean-up today and it was insane. They were busing people from campus to the areas that were hit the hardest. The house we were helping with was completely leveled, stuff was everywhere. We worked for about two hours (the sweat helped with the sugar detox, btw). It was really surreal work, you’re going along and throwing stuff in big bags and boxes and everyone once in awhile you stop and think, “Oh, this is someone’s roof. This is someone’s wall. This is a piece of a mirror that someone used.” We even found the rotating plate from inside her microwave, broken into a bunch of pieces. The woman who owned the house was there, trying to get the last bits of stuff out of her basement. She had a cute dog. I’m sad for them.

I came home and basically slept for the rest of the day, got up at 6 and took a walk with Matt, then made dinner. We had chicken and veggie skewers grilled in the grill pan, with some quinoa pilaf. I also had a little salad bar salad from the grocery store that I didn’t eat at lunch.

Now I’m watching The Tudors (still dirty) and getting ready to go to bed because I have to work in the morning. Yes, on a Sunday.

One Response to Detox

  1. Julz says:

    I just about died laughing… Cracked out “Magic Bar” for me = Costco/Sam’s Club Vanilla Sheetcake/Icing. The icing = shortening and sugar and the cake = lard and sugar … Well, I’m sure there are eggs some where in there! Anyways, the best thing I’ve ever tasted in my L.I.F.E.!!! And I get intense sugar comas after being raped by that cake. Or after I rape the cake. Baseline: I have been there before and I will be there again next year on my birthday šŸ™‚ lol

Leave a Reply

