Cheap and easy

I think tonight’s dinner cost me approximately -2 cents. Nice, right?

Here’s my version of Heidi Swanson’s Lemon-Scented Quinoa. I just had quinoa on Saturday but I can’t help that I crave grains that are not really grains.

I was going to make something more complicated but I had a bad day and I decided I could have WHATEVER I WANTED as a reward for making it through. And instead of pizza or brownies or something, I had quinoa. And chickpeas. Served with a delicious tahini-based dressing, some roasted broccoli, and brussels sprouts.

I hope my kids are more normal than this.

quinoa

I’m not going to bother uploading the brussels sprouts picture because a) you’ve seen it before and b) WordPress is ON MY LIST of annoyances because it won’t upload my images.

Here’s what we had last night, which I didn’t post because I hate Sunday nights and I also got really involved in The Tudors again.

sandwiches

Spinach/apple/cheese paninis with homemade potato chips (more potato-y than chippy, sadly), and some fruit. I actually ate two of these sandwiches because I was hungry and they were amazingly good.

That reminds me that I want some cherries. I used all of the money that I saved on my cheap dinner to buy ridiculously overpriced cherries, which will be my financial downfall this summer. At least I know in advance.

My feet hurt so I’m going to stop typing with them.

No. Not really. But I wish.

3 Responses to Cheap and easy

  1. Aimee says:

    O my that Apple Sandwich looks yummy!
    And cherries + gas seem to be my $$$ downfall as well.

  2. arielle says:

    I wish I had a panini maker.

  3. Jenny says:

    Aimee –

    It was great! The recipe was from Clean Eating magazine, but it was basically just all the ingredients I listed.

    How about driving to the store to get cherries? Now that’s some $$$$.

    Arielle –

    My panini maker is called Matt with a grill pan. He is also my dishwasher. Well, minus the grill pan.

Leave a Reply

