I hate exercise bikes

I just do. Sometimes I’ll hit a bike for 15 minutes as part of my cardio if I have a really good book to read, but usually I avoid them at all costs. So, I was in a pretty bad mood after having to bike for 35 minutes, even if I did follow it up with walking, something I actually enjoy. But my poor little blue toe can’t handle anything else. So I’m going to have to soldier through, I guess. It did make me insanely tired, so I guess that’s… something.

I got home after 7:00, hungry and wanting chickpeas. I don’t know why these things happen to me, but I was so happy that I wasn’t craving cake that I went with it. I have ingredients for a chickpea curry, but that seemed like it would take too long, so I went with Heidi Swanson’s Lemon-scented Quinoa Salad again. Still good. This time, I had it with a spinach and carrot salad, with some Italian dressing I found in the refrigerator that was only one day past its expiration date! SCORE!

So far, I’ve resisted having dessert. I’m quite proud. It doesn’t matter that I’m just too lazy to get up and get any. It still counts. Now my dilemma is: get up and clean things or fall asleep on the living room floor and remain there pathetically until Matt comes home and makes me go to bed for real.

I agree.

Sorry, Matt.

5 Responses to I hate exercise bikes

  1. I don’t love the stationary bikes either. I feel like you can be on it forever and you hardly burn any stinkin calories… well okay, you burn a few. But, you could burn so many more walking or running. But, since you can only bike you should take spinning classes. if you get a good instructor who keeps the music loud and makes sure that everyone stays pumped up- it’s fun – and a great workout.

  2. arielle says:

    I hate them. Hate them!

    Now you’re inspiring me with this lemon-scented business.

  3. Matt says:

    Yeah it was another classic Jenny-on-the-floor scene when I got home last night.

  4. Jenny says:

    Eatingbirdfood-
    I was so involved in my own self-pity that I didn’t even think of trying a spinning class. Thanks for the idea. Now, is it true that you need padded shorts? I often let rumors keep me from trying new things.

    Arielle-
    It’s awesome. Actually, every Heidi Swanson thing I’ve made has been awesome. She’s like… a vegetarimagician.

    Matt-
    At least I was awake. Next time you might not be so lucky.

  5. arielle says:

    You do not need padded shorts. Your butt might just be sore after the first time, but it will adjust.

Leave a Reply

