Refrigerator raider

This was a “clean out the stuff that’s going to go bad in the fridge” kind of night, so we had two mini-meals that didn’t necessarily go together.

First course was baked tofu and a spinach and carrot salad with a ginger-lime vinaigrette:

This is the first time I’ve actually used leftover tofu. I usually prefer to leave it in the fridge, forget about it, and throw it out when it turns black. Fun!

Second course was mushroom barley risotto with whole wheat sourdough toast:

I think it’s well-established that I love risotto, especially risotto that is not really risotto, but this was especially good. Probably because the recipe explicitly said that I didn’t have to stand there and stir it, so I just brought broth, barley, mushrooms, and a little soy sauce (this was a new one for me) to a boil, reduced it to a simmer, and skipped off to read my book. Basically, I got 45 minutes of my life back.

Also, it was 92 degrees and I didn’t want to stand in front of the oven. I’m not ready to die yet. I have more to give.

I didn’t get much done today, so our list for tomorrow now has 39 things or something great like that on it, including cleaning every single room in our apartment, vacuuming, trying to get our carpet back to its original color, grocery shopping, looking for new running shoes, going to the library, writing wedding thank yous because we were finally able to get those printed, and possibly doing some deep breathing to ward off anxiety attacks. You know, no big deal. If I get started by, oh, yesterday morning or so, I should definitely be done in time for Sunday night yoga.

I think I’m going to need some ice cream.

Leave a Reply

