On watch.

Just when I start to think I can handle Kansas weather, we have another tornado watch. Which completely ruined my evening, THANKYOUVERYMUCH. We were even planning to go out to dinner in the middle of running errands, but I get too anxious to drive during any kind of potential weather situation, so we had to nix that. Probably for the best, really, as it’s about 110 degrees outside. Also for the best because we took a trip to the campus dairy bar at work today. So, for my afternoon snack, instead of eating a Clif Kid Z-Bar, I indulged in a big cup of homemade mint fudge swirl ice cream. Mmmmm. Worth the heat index of 106 walk over, for sure. AND it was eating local. So. Extra points for that.

So for dinner, I threw together a bean salad so that I wouldn’t have to cook anything. Spinach, corn, black beans, tomato, cumin, lime, garlic, cayenne pepper. Oh, and some goat cheese. Which doesn’t necessarily go with any of that. Except that it goes with everything.

I don’t remember it being this bright and shiny. But whatever.

Okay, it’s time for me to pretend to read but actually sit anxiously until the watch is over. At midnight.

2 Responses to On watch.

  1. arielle says:

    Goat cheese does go with everything. It’s true. Is it really that hot? I never knew Kansas got so hot.

    Everything I know about Kansas, I’ve learned from you.

  2. Jenny says:

    Well, it wasn’t really 110, but the heat index actually was 106. I walked outside and my face caught on fire. If that tells you anything.

    And, I didn’t think it would be that hot here, either. Being from NC, I assumed it would be cooler. I mean, it’s north. But yeah, I was wrong. The heat indexes get even higher in August. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

