Stewed

I was home sick from work. I won’t go into the boring details, but I will say that I think I am the worst person in the world at staying home sick. Or staying home at all, really. I do fine on the weekends because I usually have enough errands to run or at least am tired enough that I don’t mind being at home. And if I’m somewhere else, I can usually kick back for a day with no problem, but when I’m just at home, I really, really hate it. I had the flu once in grad school and I almost went out of my mind.

Anyway, I ate a bunch of pizza crusts from Matt’s Red Baron lunch today, and that was around 4, so I wasn’t super hungry for dinner. Pizza crusts from (cooked) frozen pizzas rank in my top 5 favorite foods. Not the pizza itself. That’s pretty meh. But the crust is awesome. They’re probably packed with weird, unpronounceable ingredients, but they are crispy and delicious ones.

But, deliciousness aside, I knew I needed something vaguely nutritious for dinner and I wanted it to be warm. I had some okra from the farmer’s market, which was just staring me in the face, so I decided to try this recipe for an okra/orzo stew. I’ve had plenty of okra in my life, but it’s typically been sliced up, coated in something delightful, and deep fried. I didn’t even recognize the actual vegetable (or is it a fruit?) when I saw it in a non-fried format, and I had to ask what it was. I got excited and bought it, later realizing that I had no idea what to do with it, since I am mortally afraid of frying things on my own. I’m accident-prone.

Turns out, it can be good in non-fried form, too. This recipe was great.

I had a few tomatoes already, and I also used one of Livia’s, this one a really cool wrinkly looking one with a name I’ve forgotten. I also added a can of black beans (drained and rinsed) to bulk it up. Oh, and I obviously had to put cheese on top. Next time I’ll know to cut my okra a little smaller, because a few pieces were still pretty crunchy, but, all in all, I’d call it a success.

I have another event with my class tomorrow night, so I’ll probably be eating out. I think I’ll push for somewhere with fajitas again. It made the last event that much more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

