I love chickpeas

Really, I do. It’s all I can do to keep myself from eating chickpea products for dinner every day. Variety is the spice of life, right?

Tonight, I caved to my cravings and made Chickpea Tagine with Cinnamon, Cumin, and Carrots from Vegetarian Times. I can’t find a recipe on their site, but this is pretty much it. I had my bowl with a little yogurt, which really balanced the spices nicely.

I tasted this while it was cooking, and I thought it was bland. Somehow, though, the flavors came together at the end, and it turned out to be all warm and sweet and spicy and delicious. I thought we’d have tons of leftovers, but Matt ate the rest, so that’s basically the most ringing endorsement I could ask for.

After dinner, I had some work to do and then we went to get groceries. Which, note to self, I should stop doing on weekday evenings. It takes all of my energy and, for whatever reason, leaves me desperately craving brownies. I wish I understood it.

Tonight was especially draining for several reasons, including, but not limited to: the price of my bread going up by a dollar a loaf, the complete absence of pita bread (the place I usually find it was full of Hawaiian sweet bread?!?!), and no chicken breasts that didn’t look sickly/cost 10 dollars a pack. Oh, and standing at the deli counter for fifteen minutes while the one woman working was running around crazy trying to get my order, deal with the chicken in the fryer, and serve people big plastic containers of coleslaw. I felt guilty that I even asked for my turkey breast, but it would’ve been worse to leave. Right? RIGHT? She changed her gloves like eight times, each time asking me if I minded. It was terrible.

Anyway, it all worked out because I finally got a Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar and I’m psyched to try it. Also, I realized that we have chicken in the freezer, so all is well.

Still no brownies, though. Maybe next time.

Leave a Reply

