I love fall

Happy first day of fall!

Fall is officially the only season I like. I used to like winter, but that was in North Carolina, where winter mostly means Christmas. Here in Kansas, winter means snow, some ice, buying Yaktrax to strap on my shoes, some more snow, some blowing snow, and having my hair freeze on the way to work. Or at least it did last year. And that’s all I have to go on.

Maybe I’ll like it more this year since I’m not traveling for Christmas. Snow is really nice when you don’t have to drive to the airport in it.

Anyway, FALL! Fall is where it’s at. So, I celebrated the autumnal equinox by getting a pumpkin muffin for my afternoon snack. Things got a little out of control, considering that my usual afternoon snack is a Z-Bar or a Kashi bar, and not a muffin the size of my head. But I wanted it, so there you go.

Sadly, it meant that I wasn’t hungry for dinner at all, which makes sense considering that I was still eating my muffin at 7:15pm. You can’t let that goodness go to waste. But a big faceful of carby pumpkin does not a dinner make, so I soldiered through and made some real food.

We had some leftover tofu from last night’s dinner, so I marinated that in some Annie’s Sesame Orange marinade, which I picked up at the grocery store tonight. Then I just pan-fried it in maybe a tsp of olive oil. I actually wasn’t even going to blog this meal, but I think it was one of my finest tofu moments, so I basically had to. See the pretty, crispy pieces?

The tofu was so good it had its own aura. You can kind of see it. It’s the blindingly bright shiny part. I also had some bulgur-lentil pilaf, since we have approximately 98 tons of it left from Saturday.

Okay, now I have to go to bed so that I can get up at an ungodly hour of the morning and grade papers.

2 Responses to I love fall

  1. coles14 says:

    I love fried tofu. I need to get me some.

  2. Donna says:

    Yeah, me too. Jenny should do take-out for us.

Leave a Reply

