More like Yum-bo.

Get it?

I am about to fall asleep on my keyboard but my self-evaluation is almost done. Matt is proof-reading it for me as I write this. He should be great at it, since he always finds and points out typos in my blog entries. Cut me some slack, Matt. I compose these gems without a fully functional space bar. There’s only so much I can do.

Tonight I decided to try my hand at gumbo, since we had lots of okra from the farmer’s market on Saturday. I’ve never made (or actually eaten) gumbo, so it was a real experiment. I checked out a few recipes, but none of them really seemed right for me. Magpie sent me her recipe, which sounds delicious. I’ll have to try that one soon; I just need to get my hands on some butternut squash. I used some of her techniques, the traditional gumbo ingredients, and a little bit of whatever was in the kitchen and came up with this:

Sorry for the semi-weird picture. I had to keep the camera far away because it was really steamy. That’s Matt’s bowl next to mine, by the way. When I want two bowls, I get seconds. Anything else is just plain wasteful.

Since I didn’t have a real recipe, I had to wing it, and I was quite proud that it turned out the be so delightfully edible. Here’s what I used:

  • 16 oz lean turkey sausage
  • A ton of sliced okra
  • A yellow onion, diced
  • Garlic
  • A red bell pepper, diced
  • A green bell pepper, diced
  • A can of crushed tomatoes
  • A can of diced tomatoes (for the liquid, mostly)
  • Fresh thyme
  • A pinch of crushed red pepper
  • Salt and pepper
  • Olive oil

And here’s what I did:

  1. Cook the sausage until brown. I removed the casing so that it would be crumbly. And because the casings gross me out. Remove from pan.
  2. Add a little olive oil and cook okra over medium heat for 7-8 minutes. Remove from pan.
  3. Add onion, peppers, garlic, and a little more olive oil if needed. Cook for 3-4 minutes, stirring frequently.
  4. Add sausage, okra, tomatoes, thyme, crushed red pepper, salt, and pepper. Stir. Simmer for 12-15 minutes.

We had it over brown rice, which was good, but the options are really endless.

Okay, I am going to go to bed and try not to cry that it’s only Tuesday.

3 Responses to More like Yum-bo.

  1. magpie says:

    Yummy! And healthy 🙂

    It’s Wednesday soon…

  2. arielle says:

    Looks good. Okra scares me a little.

  3. Jenny says:

    Magpie-

    Thanks for the tips!

    Arielle-

    Okra is delightful. I would not lie. The main thing I do is wipe my knife between every slice. It cuts down on the slime factor.

Leave a Reply

