First Chili

All day, I thought it was Thursday. It wasn’t. That’s tomorrow.

To comfort myself in the face of all that disorientation, I made my first chili of the season:

You could call this “use whatever you have” chili. I know I will.

Here’s what I used:

  • About 3 small turkey burgers worth of ground turkey breast (this is a precise measurement, I know)
  • 2 carrots, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • Garlic
  • Cumin (lots)
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can great northern beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can green chiles, diced
  • 1/3 cup quick-cooking barley
  • 3 cups of broth
  • 1 cup of water

All measures are fairly approximate. Except the ones that say “1 can,” because I feel pretty confident about those.

Here’s what to do:

  1. Heat carrot, onion, and garlic in olive oil over medium high heat until soft.
  2. Add turkey and cumin and cook turkey through, breaking into small chunks.
  3. Add beans, peppers, barley, water, and broth. Bring to a low boil.
  4. Reduce heat to low and simmer for about 15 minutes.
  5. Enjoy.
  6. Write me fan mail.

I’ll be experimenting with this more (read: every other day) as the weather cools off. This was a little bland for me, so I need to heat it up next time. It would also be good without the turkey, with different beans, with some corn, with a different grain. The possibilities are endless, really.

Okay, I’m wiped out, so I’m going to go finish The Road and probably cry about a post-apocalyptic world until I fall asleep.

And then it will be Thursday.

Right?

4 Responses to First Chili

  1. Tara says:

    While your food looks delicious and visually appealing, I cannot call it chili. In my book (the most important one in my library)chili has to have red in it. The carrots are orange so they don’t count.

    When I make this and send you fan mail, the subject line will read “In regards to your turkey white bean soup”.

  2. Donna says:

    Pfft, don’t listen to Tara. It’s a white chili. White chilis don’t have red in them. If you want to spice it up a bit without adding a heat that will overpower the other nice, light flavors, you might try some nutmeg. No, I mean it. It will make it warm and awesome.

  3. magpie says:

    it’s chili-ish 🙂 looks great!

  4. Jenny says:

    Tara,

    Don’t be such a hater. White chili is highly respected in the chili world. Listen to Donna.

    Donna,

    Nutmeg? Hmmm. That might be just crazy enough to work.

    Magpie,

    Thanks! It’s hard to go wrong with chili.

Leave a Reply

