We all know what this means…

I had to bust out the monkey plate tonight:

Though I will say, this time it wasn’t to help me get over a bad day, just a long one.

Anyway, that glob of food is Mexican lasagna. This is a horrible picture, but it tasted pretty good. I’ve made this a few times before, after discovering it at Margaret’s Cantina back in Chapel Hill one summer. I think I made it every three days at one point when I was trying to “perfect the recipe.” Which I promptly forgot. So I just made up a new one. Basically, I sauteed some bell peppers, ~ 3/4 cup corn, and mushrooms, mixed those with a can of black beans (drained and rinsed) and a can of diced tomatoes (drained some). Then I spread a little of that mixture on the bottom of a baking dish, layered four small corn tortillas on it, sprinkled about 1/4 cup of colby jack cheese, added 2/3 of the remaining veggie mixture, covered with four more small corn tortillas, another 1/4 cup of cheese, and the rest of the veggies. And then I baked it at 350 for 25 minutes. It makes six Jenny sized servings (see above) and probably 3 or 4 Matt sized servings.

Again, with the precision. I should have been a scientist.

I didn’t realize until I was eating it that I had completely forgotten to add any seasoning whatsoever. Good move! I smothered my portion in salsa to make up for it. Also, in the future, I will add much more cheese.

Matt recently blew my mind by revealing that we have free on-demand service that includes my favorite channel ever, Exercise TV. My sister introduced me to it when I went to NC last winter, and I’ve never been so excited.

So, while I was eating diner, I watched an upper body workout featuring Jackie Warner and a few of those scary women from Work Out. As it happens, watching someone else exercise is just as tiring as exercising yourself. So I decided not to. But I’m getting back in my routine tomorrow. Really. I’m saying it on the internet, so now I’m accountable.

And, if I’m going to do that, I better go to bed now. As predicted, I was up late last night, finishing The Road and crying and crying.

6 Responses to We all know what this means…

  1. magpie says:

    ExerciseTV is AWESOME! Try the Interval Cardio Sculpt (Lisa Wheeler) and the Jillian Michaels 30-day shred workouts.

  2. Sharon says:

    Too cute! Monkeys are adorable!

  3. Tara says:

    Did you liked The Road? Should I pick it up?

  4. Allison Wehrley says:

    The Mexican lasagne sounds like it was decent. I’ll definitely have to try that one.

    My favorite ExerciseTV workouts On Demand:

    -AM Yoga
    -Jillan Michael’s 30 Day Shred (Level 2)
    -Envy Girls (Legs)

    Online (www.exercisetv.tv) My favorite free mini workouts include:

    -Ab Trimmer
    -Rear View
    -Core Balance
    -Legs Love Lunges
    -A-List Arms

    You can stream all of these for free for about a 30 minute total body workout.

    You inspire me!
    -R

  5. Jenny says:

    Magpie-
    Awesome – I saw both of those on the menu, so I’ll have to check them out.

    Sharon-
    Monkeys make everything better.

    Tara-
    It. Was. Awesome. I highly recommend it. Though I wouldn’t recommend reading it in public – a little too intense.

    Allison-
    Thanks! I strive for decent food. Thanks for the recommendations. I didn’t even realized I could get free workouts online, too, so I’ll have to look into it.

  6. arielle says:

    Oh my god, I cried for two days after The Road. And then, just talking about it the other day, I almost started crying.

Leave a Reply

