This is a Heidi Swanson fanblog

Okay, it’s more than that (edited to add: it’s also an Ellie Krieger fanblog), but we did happen to have two Heidi Swanson meals in a row. I’ve had them both on my radar for a while, but it worked out nicely to make them both this week because we got a huge bunch of chard at the farmer’s market on Saturday, and they both call for it.

Last night was Lively Up Yourself Lentil Soup:

Doesn’t that look lively? Yes. I skipped the saffron yogurt because, well, I don’t believe in saffron. It was still really awesome and filling and perfect for a rainy and cold-ish Tuesday. I used half fire-roasted crushed tomatoes and half regular crushed tomatoes, and I think next time I’ll just stick with the regular ones. The fire-roasted ones tasted a little strange to me.

Tonight was Garlic Soba Noodles:

It as good, but it didn’t rock my face off, like I expected it to. Though, to be fair, I think I did something wrong, because I feel like it looked a lot better when Arielle made it.

Off topic, but this is really exciting – Matt went to the gym with me this morning for the first time ever. It was awesome. I didn’t punk out because it was raining, and I wasn’t afraid of possums while I was walking to the car. I could get used to this. Tomorrow morning, we’re going to play basketball after I get done with my regular workout. Exercise is fun again!

Speaking of tomorrow, I have an event with my class tomorrow night, so I won’t be home to cook. I will, however, be enjoying a delightful home-cooked meal with a few of my teaching colleagues at Donna’s house, and maybe I’ll get to blog that. Friday night is still up in the air. Basically, I’ll be back again at some point.

Now I’m off to celebrate the huge project I finally finished today. Ice cream? Some beer? Hot chocolate and cookies? ALL OF THE ABOVE? The sky is really the limit.

Leave a Reply

