Packet up

We love things cooked in packets here in the See Food household. Fish cooked in packets, sweet potatoes cooked in packets, chicken cooked in packets. If you could bake cakes in packets, I’d do that, too. But you can’t, and that’s why I don’t bake cakes.

Anyway, tonight we had chicken packets with whole wheat couscous and green beans from the farmer’s market.

For these particular chicken packets, I used a recipe I’ve tried a few times before – they have salt, black pepper, garlic, crushed red pepper, and orange slices.

I slept for 11 hours last night and I’m still feeling wrecked. Last week was pretty stressful, and next week is looking a little intense, too. So, I think I’ll take it easy tonight, especially since I did approximately zero things today, which means I’ll have to do lots of things tomorrow.

I really wish I hadn’t started talking about cake, because now I want some. And I don’t have any. I might be able to dig up some decaf creme brulee coffee, and if I close my eyes, maybe I can pretend it’s the real thing.

4 Responses to Packet up

  1. magpie says:

    Bobby’s been bugging me to make something with chicken and oranges – maybe I’ll give this a shot šŸ™‚ Looks great.

  2. Livia says:

    Hmmmm, I’ve never tried making chicken in a packet, only fish. What temperature do you bake it at and for how long? Sounds yummy!

  3. Jenny says:

    Magpie-
    Chicken packets are awesome. The chicken gets pretty citrus-y, so it might be just the thing Bobby’s looking for.

    Livia,
    I baked this for 20 minutes at 425 degrees. It’s one of my favorite chicken recipes – I highly recommend it! When you cook fish in a packet, how do you usually do it?

  4. Livia says:

    I’ve only made it once. I made salmon with mushrooms and a little tomato juice. It took forever to bake so I think I need to use a higher temp next time. It was the first time I used the oven in my new place so I haven’t figured out its quirks yet but it was really tasty so no big deal that I had to wait.

Leave a Reply

