Boktoberfest

At the penultimate farmer’s market of the year on Saturday morning, I got the biggest bunch of bok choy I’ve ever seen. I mean, it wouldn’t fit in a bag, my arm hurt from carrying it, and, half gone now, is still taking up an entire shelf in our refrigerator.

And it was only $2!

So, bok choy has been the featured ingredient in our last two dinners.

Last night, which got a little hectic because I had another event with my class, we made soba with tofu and vegetables, in a delightful almond sauce, using this recipe.

My RA started flaring up last night, and eventually woke me up at 4:00 this morning. I love that. Luckily, I have an awesome husband who didn’t mind getting up at 5:00 to get me some medicine. Anyway, I took the morning off work, and I learned several important things:

  1. The construction workers do not care that I did not sleep well and that I am in pain; they continue to yell and dig holes and drive their truckies around regardless.
  2. People who live in my building do not seem to work during the day.
  3. Which seems to lead them to rampant abuse of hot water, as I had none when I eventually rallied and got out of bed to get ready for the day.

Because not working when I have a million things to do and I feel like I’m supposed to be working makes me twitchy, I drove over to work, got my laptop, and came back home to work for the afternoon. I think I’m going to make “Work on self-care” one of my 2009 resolutions, because I’m going to go ahead and admit that I’ve been kind of a failure at it recently. And I’m pretty sure that getting depressed and eating half a bag of candy corn doesn’t really count.

Anyway, after I finished working, Matt and I went on a really short walk so that I could try to loosen up my knee. Then, we made chicken fried rice, using an adaptation of this recipe.

We still have so much bok choy left. I have no idea what to do with it.

Since dinner, I’ve been grading papers, which pretty much sucked every bit of energy I had left. So now I’m going to go to bed and try to force myself to have a positive attitude about tomorrow. GO TUESDAY.

5 Responses to Boktoberfest

  1. maggie says:

    Aw, I hope you’re feeling better.

    Tuesday will be AWESOME 😀

  2. Rebecca says:

    Ugh, I TOTALLY feel that. Couldn’t fall asleep last night because of the fibromyalgia. Just lay in bed aching. Nothing like hurting *and* feeling tired. Guess we just have to put one foot in front of the other this week.

  3. Jenny says:

    Maggie-
    Thanks! Fortunately, Tuesday turned out okay.

    Rebecca-
    What’s up this week?? I hope you’re feeling better! Is there anything that helps when your pain keeps you from sleeping?

  4. Rebecca says:

    Hey Jenny,

    I’m not on any medication for my pain — I try to manage it exclusively through exercise — so the only thing that helps so far is physical activity and stretching. But it’s been getting worse lately, so I may have to see about getting on something. I tried taking two Tylenol PMs last night, but to my great disappointment, those didn’t help much.

    What do you do/take to help with your pain? Hope you’re feeling better today.

  5. Jenny says:

    Hi Rebecca-

    I take Enbrel, and it’s been great in terms of pain management, and, amazingly, it has reversed some joint damage. But, it took me over five years before I found something that really worked in the long term, so if you do decide to add some medication to what you’re currently doing, don’t be discouraged if it takes a while to find the right fit! I really, really hope you can find something that helps.

    -Jenny

Leave a Reply

