Success!

It is straight up fall here, with the trees suddenly being bright red and orange and yellow and so forth. In fact, this morning it was 26 degrees (and dark!) when I left home to go to work, so it’s basically almost winter. Which means: soup!

I’ve been up since five, so I wanted something quick and easy. I went for something new: corn chowder. I was planning to use a recipe from an old Cooking Light soups and stews cookbook, but I didn’t realize until later that it was supposed to have crab in it. So I basically just took inspiration from it and did whatever I wanted. And it actually turned out really well:

Here’s what I did:

  1. Heated about 1 tsp olive oil over medium
  2. Added 2 cups of diced red potatoes, 1 cup of chopped mushrooms, and 2 cloves of garlic (minced) and heated for about 3 minutes
  3. Added 3 cups of skim milk, 2 cups of broth (I used chicken), salt, pepper, and thyme
  4. Increased heat and brought mixture to a boil
  5. Reduced heat and simmered for about 30 minutes
  6. Added more thyme and about 1 tbsp of Parmesan cheese

This probably makes 4ish servings? I’m not sure. We had some more of that multi-grain french bread on the side to round things out.

Okay, I’m off to do some dishes and get some sleep.

One Response to Success!

  1. […] last night, because it sounded like the best option when my throat was still hurting. I used my own recipe, although clearly no one reads these things because I didn’t get any comments when I made it […]

Leave a Reply

