Happy Halloween!

We’ve been going out to eat most of this week, largely because our apartment has been struck by some kind of disgusting plague of flies. We seem to have it under control for the moment, so tonight I actually felt fairly confident cooking without worrying too much about my food being contaminated by dirty insects.

It was warm here today, almost 80 when Matt and I walked home from early voting, so I decided to make a salad inspired by one I saw recently in a Women’s Health I was reading at the gym.

Quinoa and chickpea salad

Quinoa and chickpea salad

Quinoa cooked in broth, mixed with sauteed shredded carrots and red pepper, served over spinach, with a white wine vinaigrette.

I think there was a little bit of a protein overload in this meal (although, you know, I am in training), so I’m balancing it out with some candy swiped from the huge bowl we have because no kids came to trick or treat at our house.

I also violated my one caffeinated beverage a day rule by drinking a huge iced black tea at 4:30 in the afternoon, so I’m thinking I might have to go out and do something with this unprecedented artificial Friday night energy.

Have a fun Halloween!

2 Responses to Happy Halloween!

  1. maggie says:

    No kids came for us either – so I ate a Reese’s. Yum 🙂

  2. coles14 says:

    Your food looks great. I’ll have to try it sometime.

    I would die if I had to limit myself to one glass of tea a day. I admire your strength.

Leave a Reply

