Pasta, two ways

It’s a good thing I decided to take a break from blogging, because there really hasn’t been a lot of cooking going on around here. On Thursday, I fought the urge to go out to eat and made a salmon/orzo salad inspired by this recipe instead.

img_1718

I don’t remember the orzo looking that creepy in real life. I made a few modifications, like using canned wild salmon instead of fresh salmon (because it’s cheaper and we’re landlocked) and omitting olives (because of my intense hatred). It was good, but not very appropriate for a cold, windy day, so I think I’ll be tabling that one until summer.

Yesterday, Matt took me out after a monumentally frustrating doctor’s appointment and running around town trying to get a prescription filled. He’s nice.

Today I went to a craft fair with some friends to look for Christmas gifts, although I basically came home with a bunch of food from the bake sale and some earrings for myself. Oops. After that, I went out to lunch, then Matt and I went to the laundromat and did (I’m not kidding) ten loads of laundry. I can take credit for eight. How does that even happen? I’m not proud. Although it’s nice to have a pile in the laundry closet that is not taller than I am.

To reward us, I made some fancy macaroni and cheese, based on this recipe. Interestingly, I somehow read the “gorgonzola” in the recipe as “Gruyere” which, as you may know, is a totally different and much more expensive kind of cheese (though it does also start with a “G,” so you can understand the confusion). So I spent $8.79 on a block of Gruyere we didn’t even officially need, although I’m not sure it’s possible to not need Gruyere. Anyway, I used an ounce or so of that in place of the gorgonzola and it still worked. It turned out fairly well (especially in light of an ink stain incident that occurred during the sensitive sauce-whisking process), but – and I can’t believe I’m saying this – it was a little too cheesy for me. It may have been the combo of the Parm and the Gruyere, but it really had a bite to it. Matt liked it, though, so maybe I’m off base.

img_1720

I also had some brussels sprouts, but you know what they look like. After I tried another method on one of the ink stain, I ate a peanut butter rice krispy treat from the bake sale today. It was gone before I could get a picture, but I think I may have to try to recreate it one of these days.

By the way, if you have any brilliant ideas for removing ink stains that are probably now nice and set in on our couch and a pair of Matt’s jeans, please feel free to share.

Leave a Reply

