Fast

I have to fast for twelve hours before some bloodwork tomorrow morning, which makes me nervous. As we all know, I love to eat food. And I can’t remember a day in the last 20ish years that I didn’t eat some kind of breakfast before leaving the house. I’m packing a Clif bar, but I hope I don’t faint before I eat it.

As a nice pre-fast dinner, I made a recipe I picked up from the co-op a few weeks ago: Spinach and ricotta pappardelle.

img_1843

I made a few changes, including: adding mushrooms, using 1/4 of the butter and about 3/4 of the ricotta it called for, and using rotini instead of pappardelle. I couldn’t find pappardelle. Plus, I didn’t even know what it was until after we got home from the grocery store and I looked it up on Wikipedia. Apparently it’s big fettucine. You learn something new every day.

My physical therapist said that I could try using the elliptical or bike again, but it was so cold today that I couldn’t bear to go to the gym after we got groceries. When I left the house this morning, it was 0 with a wind chill of -11. It warmed up to around 14 later in the day. Balmy! Anyway, I’m aiming for some exercise on Wednesday. On the plus side, the rest seems to be helping.

Is it wrong that I really want some pre-fast soy cream, even when it’s in the single digits outside?

Leave a Reply

