Vacation countdown

I had a long day of waking up cold, complaining about the cold, going to the gym (in the cold), running errands (in the cold), and complaining more about the cold. It was exhausting, obviously, so I wanted to make a quick dinner. I thought I’d try something new, so I went for… chili! Yeah, I know, same old same old. But it’s a degree outside and nothing else sounded quite as warm. I did shake things up by adding chips this time, though!

img_1863

It’s got the refried beans again. We’re addicted.

In case you’re concerned, I have been eating during my unplanned hiatus. The only notable thing, though, was stuffed squash:

img_1851

We roasted the squash the same way we did last time. The filling was different though, because I was (gasp) out of bulgur. So I whipped up a mix of ground turkey breast, a can of pinto beans, a green pepper, a can of diced tomatoes, and some cumin. Basically, chili without the liquids. I’m nothing if not predictable. Anyway, it made a ton, so we used the rest to make burritos. We’re handy.

Yesterday we went out to fancy dinner to celebrate six months of marriage. We split a shrimp skewers appetizer and I had the “seafood extravangza” pasta. I’d love to make it at home, but it had complicated things like mussels and lobster and so on, so I don’t see that happening. In honor of things I can’t make, we also split a slice of hazelnut cheesecake for dessert. And I may or may not have had a nice glass of wine and an Irish coffee over the course of the evening. Both of which helped cut the pain on the three degree walk home. In a dress.

In other good news, I only have one and a half work days left before vacation. This is simultaneously exciting and anxiety-inducing because my to-do list is looking a little out of control. Tomorrow should be especially interesting, with two doctors appointments, some meetings, a cookie party, errands, four loads of laundry, and a trip to the gym somewhere in here. My life is exhausting.

Okay, I’m off to fast (again). Let’s hope the appointment stays on schedule this time.

One Response to Vacation countdown

  1. alibrariangirl says:

    You are not the only one whining about the cold! I’m not only whining about the cold but also the ice ice ice between my home and the library. Ugh. But, stuffed squash might help me feel better – what a great idea! I’ll give it a try when I return from my Christmas in Virginia.

Leave a Reply

