2008: The good, the bad, and the ugly

I’m in denial about the fact that my vacation is almost over, so I’m focusing on more positive things, like the fresh start I get tomorrow. But before I move on to goals and resolutions, I thought I’d look back on the past year and some of the highlights (and lowlights).

The Good:

  1. I married my favorite person in the world.
  2. I got to celebrate that marriage with friends and family from all over the country.
  3. I ran my first 5k.
  4. I did a lot more yoga.
  5. I got better at cooking.
  6. I cut down on dining out.
  7. I got better at packing for conferences.
  8. I finally weaned myself off of Clinique’s Clarifying Lotion and now use something from Target that saved me at least 20 bucks this year.
  9. I read 53 books.
  10. I ate some excellent food.

The Bad:

  1. We had to move unexpectedly.
  2. Our town got hit by a tornado.
  3. I developed a new and as-yet-undiagnosed lung problem.
  4. I hurt my knee training for the 5k.

The Ugly:

  1. I found a dead mouse in the kitchen sink.

Not bad, right? I’m sure there are things I’ll wish I had mentioned later, but it’s clear that the good far outweighed the bad and the ugly this year. Although, let’s be reasonable: a dead mouse in the kitchen sink is really ugly.

I’m still working on my goals for 2009, but I have plenty of time left to figure those out. Just for Matt, I think I’ll include “Go through my mail on a (semi-)regular basis.”

Leave a Reply

