Better late than never

I had every intention of making a traditional Southern New Years meal last night, but it didn’t work out that way. In the name of being more flexible (one of my 2009 goals), I decided to make it tonight instead.

brown rice, collard greens, and blackeye peas

brown rice, collard greens, and black-eyed peas

I used canned black-eyed peas, because they were out of dried, so I just rinsed them and heated them with a little vegetable broth. For the greens, I used Mark Bittman’s “Double Garlic Collards” from How to Cook Everything. And for the rice, I used the method recommend by Uncle Ben on the back of the box. Even a day late, this was really tasty and filling and I’m sure it put us right on track to having an excellent 2009. Still not as good as my grandmother or mom would have made, but I’m learning.

Speaking of fresh starts, we’ve decided to do a food experiment to keep things interesting. We’re going to attempt to go meatless for the entire month of January. We don’t eat a lot of meat around here, but I can’t remember the last time I went more than a week or so without poultry or seafood of some kind, so this should be interesting. More than anything, I’m hoping it pushes me out of my comfort zone and gives me the chance to get more use out of all of the cookbooks I’ve accumulated over the past year.

Luckily, desserts tend to be meatless, so I’m off to enjoy one.

Leave a Reply

