Blogging is hard

Between settling back in at work (and being incredibly productive due to my new 2009 productivity system, I might add) and going to basketball games and mourning Arielle’s permanent hiatus, I kind of forgot I had a blog. Oops. Can’t be a good sign.

Since I’ve been forgetting to take pictures anyway, I’ve decided that I won’t post boring stuff like the mushroom and potato fritatta we had for the 89th time last night, or the pizza we had on Sunday, or the 3 dozen bowls of chili we’re likely to have between now and April.

So, in that vein, here are two new dishes I made to break in my Christmas cookbooks.

Here’s Skillet Macaroni and Cheese with Broccoli from Donna Klein’s PDQ (Pretty Darn Quick) Vegetarian Cookbook:

img_1907

This was not as darn quick as I would have liked, but that’s really my fault for not reading the recipe, which requires an oven-proof skillet much, much larger than the one I own. So I had to bake it in a baking dish, which was glass and couldn’t go under the broiler, and so on. It was good in the end, though. I mean, cheese, pasta, broccoli. What can go wrong, really?

And tonight we enjoyed a Toasted Barley Salad from Klein’s Vegan Italiano:

img_1910

Again with the cheese. I think I’ll be able to handle meatless living for a month, but never could I give up cheese. My only complaint about this was that the recipe made it sound like toasting the barley was going to give it a unique flavor, but I didn’t notice much of a difference in the end. Maybe I always toast my barley, though.

All in all, I think I’m going to like this Donna Klein character.

Okay, now I’m off to get some sleep so that I can wake up early to book plane tickets. I heard Wednesday mornings are the best times, so I’m all over that.

One Response to Blogging is hard

  1. Livia says:

    That mac and cheese looks really yummy. May I have the recipe? Whenever I make mac and cheese and my brother happens to be around, he tries to put tuna fish in it. He lurks by the stove and generally makes a nuisance of himself and then we get into a fight about it. I do so LOVE IT when I get to cook for him. I’ll have to make this recipe for him, then we can really fight it out. He will be appalled. Mac and cheese without tuna fish but with broccoli?! A travesty!

Leave a Reply

