Here we have many pictures of food

Okay, I had to delete tons of Very Important Files from my laptop, including 17 downloaded versions of the fitness schedule at my gym and some crazy Turkish psychedelic music (sorry, Matt – hope that wasn’t important!), but it was all worth it to be able to share my recent eats with my loyal readers.

We’ve been successfully meatless, although I have to admit that I get a little wistful when I see/smell/think of/dream about chicken. But what does chicken have on a delicious meal like this:

pasta with chickpeas

pasta with chickpeas and almonds

That’s based on this recipe that my mom marked for me in one of her old issues of Real Simple.

And, as promised in my last post, here’s one of my favorite things I’ve ever made:

pizza soup!

pizza soup!

I honestly don’t know why this hasn’t occurred to me before. I love pizza. I love soup. Putting them together is just brilliant. Luckily, Donna Klein’s Vegan Italiano had this one on lock down. This really did taste like a bowl full of veggie pizza. It has tomatoes, mushrooms, onions, green peppers, pizza sauce, and spices. To keep with the pizza theme, if not the vegan one, I did add some mozzarella.

And a few other meatless meals, all straight off the dome:

there's a potato under there.

there's a potato under there. and some cheese.

more pasta with beans (and spinach)

more pasta with beans (and spinach and feta)

breakfast for dinner (egg, spinach, and feta scramble; oatmeal with almonds and dried cherries)

breakfast for dinner (egg, spinach, and feta scramble; oatmeal with almonds and dried cherries

brown rice, cauliflower, and red lentils

brown rice, cauliflower, and red lentils

I swear that red lentils don’t taste like vomit. Even though they might look less than appealing.

Whew! That took a lot of effort. Don’t worry, I’ll be back soon with a play-by-play of the exciting new treatment I’m having in physical therapy. Just to keep you interested, I’ll tell you that it involves electricity!

One Response to Here we have many pictures of food

  1. Sarah says:

    So, how did you make the pizza soup?

Leave a Reply

