It’s just how I ‘role

Casserole, that is.

Get it?

Back in the dark days before I actually realized it was okay to cook more than three things in rotation, one of our stand-bys was a chicken and rice casserole that had chicken, rice, cream of chicken soup, and a lot of cheese. I did use brown rice, so it was, you know, healthy. Right? Apparently, Matt misses those days from time to time, and will speak wistfully of the food I used to cook. And, I must admit, sometimes I just really want a big plate of something with rice and cheese myself.

So, I took it upon myself to search the vast internet and find a vegetarian version of our old favorite, maybe toned down a little so that it would be a little healthier for us. Here’s what I came up with.

I made some modifications to the recipe, including using brown rice, throwing in a bunch of extra broccoli, and leaving out the water chestnuts, but I think I kept the spirit of it.

mmmmmm

mmmmmm

It was cheesy and delightful, even though it had much less cheese than our version of old, and because of the novel inclusion of vegetables, it had more vitamins and minerals and probably even antioxidants.

Best of all, it helped clear our palates from another recent casserole attempt, which I have to file as a total fail. I saw this recipe on Sarah’s blog, which I just discovered recently. It looked amazing and I love all of the ingredients, so it seemed like a perfect meal.

I couldn’t have been more wrong. I don’t know what happened, because, as I said, I love each individual component of this recipe: pasta, winter squash, rosemary, cheese, bread, even onions. But somehow it just didn’t come together and it was bland and gross at the same time. Not enough squash? Too much reserved pasta water? Who knows. Suffice to say we won’t be making this one again. But, for the record, here’s what it looked like:

at least the brussels sprouts were good

at least the brussels sprouts were good

Last night, while we watched a Carolina game, I whipped up our favorite basketball meal: burritos. I didn’t take a picture of the final product, as they just looked like burritos, but I was pretty happy with the stuffing, so here it is:

pinto beans, broccoli, corn, mushrooms

pinto beans, broccoli, corn, mushrooms

When I was making our meal plan for this week, I realized that this is reminiscent of something I’ve made before from Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan. And here I thought I’d come up with something brilliant on my own.

Now I’m off to clean up and read. I have the day off tomorrow, but I have to get up almost as early as usual to go to physical therapy. I’m not happy about it, but Matt keeps reminding me that some people aren’t so fortunate and still have to work tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

