Beans and greens

So, the whole experience of eating animal flesh again after a month off was kind of anti-climactic. I secretly expected to bite into a little shrimp and keel over, but I didn’t. And I’m happy to report that shrimp fajitas are still good. They probably would have been even better if I hadn’t ruined the experience by eating fried ice cream for the first time in three years, bolstered by a sense of accomplishment from doing a super intense 75-minute power yoga session. Anyway, I ordered the ice cream, which was sizable enough to prompt a little girl to say “Is it her birthday? It’s someone’s birthday!” loudly enough for the four other people in our entire town who weren’t watching the super bowl to hear. And then I ate it. That’s when I keeled over. The shrimp seemed to have very little to do with it.

After all that, it was kind of nice to go back to a comfortable, low-maintenance, and meatless diet today. Tonight was another PDQ meal.

I know. But I just can’t help myself. I love it. Plus, I went to kickboxing after work and I really wanted to eat before midnight.

img_1985

toasted barley and orzo salad with black-eyed peas

This was accompanied by some kale (double garlic greens from How to Cook Everything), because I just can’t separate black-eyed peas from greens in my mind. I loved both parts of this meal – garlicky greens just seem right no matter what, and the barley and orzo salad was really chewy and warm and filling.

Okay, time for the sleeps.

Leave a Reply

