Titles are overrated

I accidentally took the weekend off from blogging. I blame my new doctor, who I met on Friday and who was sending electric currents through my limbs and sticking me with needles within mere moments of meeting me. Buy me a present first, you know what I mean?

Anyway, in the interim I made some food.

pasta with lentils

pasta with lentils

Recipe is here. I think I made some modifications, but I can’t remember for sure. I’m going to think about that while I take an ice cream break.

Nope, still nothing. It was good, though. And I did an experiment and froze some of the lentil ragout for a later date. We’ll see if I remember that in six weeks. That’s the real experiment.

Last night, I went to an inconveniently timed yoga class that ran until 8pm. I wasn’t hungry beforehand, so I didn’t start cooking until I came home (Matt did the prep while I was gone, though). We ended up eating around 9:15. Because of these special circumstances, I forced myself to stay awake until 10:15 to digest. Way past my bedtime.

We had Thai Coconut Corn Stew from Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan.

mmmmmm. creamy.

mmmmmm. creamy.

It wasn’t the most visually appealing thing I’ve ever made, but it was really good. I think coconut milk has that effect on foods. We made several changes, including not using lemongrass because I don’t keep that kind of thing on hand, and not garnishing with the lime I bought not six days before, but which had already gone to the dark side. I don’t think I changed it up enough to feel comfortable posting it, but I do highly recommend this book, in case you haven’t noticed yet.

Tonight I took inspiration from a PDQ recipe and made something I’m actually shocked I haven’t done yet. I had my sister in mind as I was making this, so I hope she gives it a shot.

red beans and rice casserole

red beans and rice casserole

The red really refers to the whole deal, not just the beans. It’s pretty complicated and very gourmet, but I’ll try to remember to translate all of the fancy French words.

You need:

  • 2/3 cup uncooked brown rice
  • 1 can of dark red kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can of no salt added diced tomatoes, drained slightly but still with most of their juices
  • chili powder to taste
  • cumin to taste
  • 1/2 cup sharp cheddar, shredded

And then you:

  1. Cook the rice according to package directions, quitting just a few minutes short of full cooking time.
  2. Stir beans, tomatoes, and spices into rice, cook for 1-2 more minutes.
  3. Transfer to a casserole dish. It should be pretty liquidy. It should seem like you’re doing it wrong.
  4. Cover tightly with foil and cook at 375 degrees for 20 minutes.
  5. Remove foil. Cover evenly with cheese. Cook for an additional 15 minutes, or until liquid is absorbed.
Leave a Reply

