Drunch

We’ve had the better part of a dozen eggs sitting in the fridge all week, just waiting to be used. I was in the mood for something fast and easy tonight, after a draining afternoon of getting my hair cut and taking a nap, so I decided on breakfast for dinner.

Or, not exactly breakfast, because I eat oatmeal for breakfast. Every few weeks I’ll switch it up and eat someĀ  yogurt (with oats in it) just to keep things interesting. This is, however, something I would most definitely eat for brunch. So what we have here would be more aptly called brunch for dinner.

drunch

drunch

Now, I officially built this meal around eggs, but as I was cooking, I realized that it was really all about cheese. What’s new, right? But I tried to be a little more subtle this time, stretching a (generous) handful of Parm over three dishes: a broccoli and spinach frittata, cheesy grits (‘polenta’ if you’re feeling fancy), and a side salad with lemon and olive oil dressing.

And what brunch is complete without beer?

mmmmmm

mmmmmm

This was a new one and it was tasty. I like dark beers and porters are at the top of my favorites list, so this was right up my alley. Plus, who doesn’t like vanilla? I split this with Matt and then we balanced things out by splitting a cocoa porter after we finished this one.

Up next: one of these awesome cookies my boss brought me today.

oatmeal/golden raisin/chocolate chip

oatmeal/golden raisin/chocolate chip

I sampled one earlier and I’m really looking forward to eating the rest of them in about five minutes. Plus: they’re oatmeal, so it’s like having breakfast for dessert after brunch for dinner.

We’re (hopefully) going out of town for the weekend, so I’ll be back in a few days.

2 Responses to Drunch

  1. Dayna says:

    Does it say “Remarkable”? Was it remarkable?

    I love stouts too – my favorite is Young’s Double Chocolate. A good mocha stout is also nice. Yum.

  2. Jenny says:

    Dayna-

    Actually, it was pretty remarkable. The Cocoa Porter was even better, but they’re out of it now.

Leave a Reply

